Thread: Two Pack and Epoxies on trailer frames

Two Pack and Epoxies on trailer frames

Just seeking opinions or experiences of using these on boat trailers.

Im not interested in being told how good gal is, because we all know that already ! So if you've had success or failure using the above, lets talk about it.
    I have a lot of experience with epoxies and two packs in other uses.

Cheers!

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish mobile app
    "let not he boast who puts his armor on, as he who takes it off"

Re: Two Pack and Epoxies on trailer frames

Never used it on a trailer but have spread a fair bit of it around on steel tugs. If your surface prep is absolutely spot on, the structure doesn't flex and crack the paint and it doesn't get chipped, it goes OK. Apart from that - it's sh*t or at least the stuff I have used is. Biggest issue with a trailer would be that during assembly, it will damage and then you might as well have not bothered IMO. The trailer would have to be built the right way with no hollow sections as well.

About 18 months ago i painted new non galv cross members (and gal rails) with clear epoxy, messy job but happy with the result, my thinking is if any rust apprears i can see it and knock it back straight away, filled internal with fish oil and sealed so it will last for years, very tough finish too,

Big issue you will have with it is rusting underneath the paint, before you see it the rust is worse than it should be

Bah u just have to get the right paint. Ive got two painted trailers. One after the gal started to go. Wire brushed and painted. All good and that was many years ago. I think it's 2pack tar epoxy?. . u could just use epoxy enamel like galmet or white knight. Or LIC.

I had a trailer on a past boat that the gal had started to go on, Scubbed it back and gave it a 2 pack, its still going strong 10 years on and it lives at the coast.