Thread: North West Island (Capricornia Cays NP)

Re: North West Island (Capricornia Cays NP)

Quote Originally Posted by Moejoes View Post
    Hey Ringy
    No fishing this weekend for reef fish up north ....... Better take heaps of beer instead
    Coral reef fin fish

Coral reef fin fish closure dates for 2014 to 2018 are:

• 21 October 2014 to 25 October 2014
      19 November 2014 to 23 November 2014
    • 10 October 2015 to 14 October 2015
      9 November 2015 to 13 November 2015
    • 28 October 2016 to 1 November 2016
      26 November 2016 to 30 November 2016
    • 17 October 2017 to 21 October 2017
      15 November 2017 to 19 November 2017
    • 6 October 2018 to 10 October 2018
      5 November 2018 to 9 November 2018

Tidal waters within the following boundary are closed waters for coral reef fin fish:

• from the northern tip of Cape York along latitude 10°41' south
    • to longitude 145° east
    • to latitude 13° south, longitude 145° east
    • to latitude 15° south, longitude 146° east
    • to latitude 17°30' south, longitude 147° east
    • to latitude 21° south, longitude 152°55' east
    • to latitude 24°30' south, longitude 154° east
    • to latitude 24°50' south, longitude 154° east along latitude 24°50' south to the mainland shore along the shore to the northern tip of Cape York at latitude 10°41' south.
    Cheers mate, yeah we knew this. We organised the trip a few months back, not thinking about the dates too much... for the last 2 years a couple of mates have come up from Victoria as they have the melbourne cup long weekend.
    We weren't too happy when we realised these dates a few weeks back!!!!!
    Plans are to do alot of trolling for mackies, diving and scope out some new ground for future trips... still alot of fishing to be done out there without chasing the bottom fish. Tuna, trevally, mackeral... and as you said... put a few more boxes in the boat! Haha

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

looks like the plan will be for a 3 week trip from 19th June - my understanding is that this is a pretty good time of year (weather wise) & the fishing is not too shabby .

i just need to get my head around the 3 weeks part & what to take

What does everyone do for ice on the longer trips ?

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post

What does everyone do for ice on the longer trips ?

You can bags of get ice sent on the barge but it'll be three parts melted by the time you get it.
    We take solar panels and fridges but have used gas fridges in the past.
    An old gas fridge out of a caravan is a good option.
    We also take an esky full of block ice which is only used to store ice. But that's only good for a week.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Quote Originally Posted by Owen View Post
    You can bags of get ice sent on the barge but it'll be three parts melted by the time you get it.
    We take solar panels and fridges but have used gas fridges in the past.
    An old gas fridge out of a caravan is a good option.
    We also take an esky full of block ice which is only used to store ice. But that's only good for a week.
    I will have an 80lt engel , a couple of batteries & 200W Solar ....... I've been making up 1.5 lt bottles of Gel which is good for a couple of days in the boat esky ..... if I make up 4 of those it takes up about half of the freezer section .
    Block ice ..... yes that takes care of the first week . I may have to hire a gas fridge for the 3 weeks

Ahhh the logistics of it all

Only problem with solar is the camps are very shady if leaving fridges/solar at camp.

we only went for a week and took and esky for camp and left a 40lt engel on the boat with a solar blacker on the roof. Worked well for a week.

Quote "I've been making up 1.5 lt bottles of Gel"

Hey Nagg, how do you make up Gel?

TMC

Quote Originally Posted by Homer_Jay View Post
    Only problem with solar is the camps are very shady if leaving fridges/solar at camp.
    That is true
    I have removed the regulator from the panels and put it in a box near the battery.
    I then made 5 x 10m lengths of 6mm square twin cable with Anderson plugs so I can put the 2 x 125w panels on the beach.
    I only use as many as needed, but as the voltage drop at 50m is only 2-3 volts and the panels put out 18-20 volts it works well.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Quote Originally Posted by Homer_Jay View Post

we only went for a week and took and esky for camp and left a 40lt engel on the boat with a solar blacker on the roof. Worked well for a week.
    Hence the two batteries - keep the panel in the sun - 5m lead to the battery & hopefully not to far to swap them over each day

Quote Originally Posted by The Mad Cat View Post
    Quote "I've been making up 1.5 lt bottles of Gel"

Hey Nagg, how do you make up Gel?

TMC
    I had access to a heap of those blue gel packs ....... just give them the snip & pour them into bottles .