Thread: Nice dollies today

Nice dollies today

Headed out off Pt Lookout this morning.

Got some yakkas at Shag then went wide to see if we could find ooglies.

No ooglies.

So headed back in to do some reef fishing, but got waylaid at the Wave Ride buoy by a bunch of dollies that were in a feeding mood.

Apparently they dont mind a live yakka .....

Bagged out quite easily and left them still biting.

We had the place to ourselves at first and the dollies were going off. Another boat turned up after a while and that slowed them down a bit, but we still boated 4 more fish but only saw the other boat get one.

The run home to Raby Bay took about 45 minutes, conditions offshore the best Ive seen for a long time. We sat on 55km/hr and hardly slowed for the bar, what there was of it.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	87.3 KB 
ID:	114248   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	92.2 KB 
ID:	114249  
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Re: Nice dollies today

sweet catch, thanks for the report

They typically love a livie. Quite often the only way to switch them on when they have seen a bit of pressure. Looks like a good session.

Nice haul well done.

Well done mate! They're great fun to catch and soft to handle once they stop thrashing round in the bottom of the boat!

Quote Originally Posted by joffo81 View Post
    Well done mate! They're great fun to catch and soft to handle once they stop thrashing round in the bottom of the boat!
    We've got a good sized esky - the procedure was to chuck them straight in there into the slurry and slam the lid shut!

5 minutes later we usually found they had thrown the hooks and calmed down, so we could then bleed them without getting kicked anywhere painful......

Seemed to work pretty well, most of the time!
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Great catch mate...mind if i ask what the water temp was?
    One of my favourite fish to catch and eat fresh....Cheers