Thread: finding new ground?

finding new ground?

I'm relatively new to fishing and boating in general (3-4 years max), in my time fishing out of noosa i have managed to find a huge amount of ground over the closer reef systems, most of this has been found by trial and error, sounding around and fishing with friends who target the same area. However since buying the larger boat and now having the best range and most capable vessel of all my fishing buddies we've run into the age old problem of being metaphorically all dressed up with no where to go.

Now the close reefs are easy, they take no more then 30-40 minutes to get to so theres not shortage of time to find new ground and see what works where, but when the travel time is 2hours+ and you're aiming for very fuzzy starting marks you end up spending only a tiny portion of your fishing time actually fishing and the rest either traveling to the new ground or sounding around looking for the needle in the gargatuin haystack.

Now, fishermen are in general terms tighter then a ducks arse and when it comes to lending a hand to find fishing ground then 9 times outa ten they would be more likely to share there credit card numbers, wife and first born daughter with you.

So how have you boys and girls got around the thorny problem of finding new ground to fish? Is there a better option then simply grinding away trolling around waiting for the sounder to show something interesting (older lowrance model, god save me.)

any good charts to consult, web sites that could lend a hand or some black magic to invoke?

Re: finding new ground?

Not really. Get the best sounder you can afford and spend the time/money to ensure it reads properly at speed. There are also starter marks for a lot of reef systems available on the net. You find a lot of new ground purely by accident when your sounder reads properly while traveling to and from these starters.