Thread: Big Kayak caught Spanish from Sunshine Reef

Big Kayak caught Spanish from Sunshine Reef

Team,

Just thought I'd share my mates Spanish that he got from a kayak last Saturday 19 March.

Launch was through the surf from Sunshine dog off leash beach at around 5:30am. Jigged up some live pike and slow trolled with a little bit of weight to keep it deep for 4hrs for one the one and only strike he had all day. Was about 2klm offshore when captured.

The neighbours cat apparently had a good feed on Saturday night and survived, Greg himself also ate a small portion and with no ill effects ate a larger portion again on Sunday before declaring safe and sharing out amongst family and friends.

The fish weighed 32kg and measured at 168cm to the tip of the tail. Landed on a Stealth kayak without any assistance it barely fit in the hatch hence the broken tail fin that snapped off trying to jam it in.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1682.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.3 KB 
ID:	112655Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1687.jpg 
Size:	89.2 KB 
ID:	112656Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1692.jpg 
Size:	101.2 KB 
ID:	112657Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1695.jpg 
Size:	82.8 KB 
ID:	112658Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1696.jpg 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	112659

Re: Big Kayak caught Spanish from Sunshine Reef

That's an absolute cracking spaniard, let alone to be landed from a yak!

Crazy man though, must have nuts the size of bowling balls to drag that beast into a kayak along side him!

the girls really have a nice grip on that fish nice catch ....had even bigger balls for eating it ...

That is a ripper of an effort well done, the girls look more excited than him.

Gregy has been cleaning up on that kayak, up off DI he's been bagging out on Spanish. He's a weapon, I don't even know how you land a fish that size on a kayak. Good effort!

Quote Originally Posted by Nick H View Post
    Gregy has been cleaning up on that kayak, up off DI he's been bagging out on Spanish. He's a weapon, I don't even know how you land a fish that size on a kayak. Good effort!
    Couldn't happen to a nicer bloke...

Sick fish well done

Unreal catch - who needs a boat / sounder / outriggers / dredges / live bait tanks / gps

That kayak is not that big!

It's too big to eat risk of ciguatera poor thing should still be swimming in the ocean. Shame the photos weren't taken and then the fish released.

Quote Originally Posted by seashawgal View Post
    It's too big to eat risk of ciguatera poor thing should still be swimming in the ocean. Shame the photos weren't taken and then the fish released.
    If they took the fish out of the sea and dumped it I would agree with you but it was their choice to test it and then eat it and they have every right to do that - who are you to tell people what they can take home for a feed - it was legal and it was earned and it wasn't wasted - it's ratbags like you that stop people posting on here - get a life

Nice fish mate - hope you get a lot of good meals from it.

Thanks for posting

Trev

Nice fish mate. No worries eating the biggest ones.