Thread: Brisbane river thread fin

Ausfish Silver Member jackson4300's Avatar

Brisbane river thread fin

Hit the river up in the wee hours of this morning and managed a nice 99cm thread fin. Only once I got to the ramp I realised I had left the sounder at home, been down a few times recently so have a pretty good grasp on the areas I like to fish. Took a bit longer to get bait but paid off in the end. Was a great morning on the water, boat in the water at 2, fish at 4 and home by 6.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	47.6 KB 
ID:	112591

Re: Brisbane river thread fin

nice mate ....been heaps of little ones in the cast net ...50/100mm long ...

Cracking fish there well done.

Quote Originally Posted by astro66 View Post
    nice mate ....been heaps of little ones in the cast net ...50/100mm long ...
    Common by-catch Brissie River trawlers and in my cast net in the local rivers is what's locally known as "Putty Nosed Perch" or Polydactylus multiradiatus. Same family (threadfins) but not the "King Threadfin" Polydactylus macrochir. Rarely bigger tham ~20cm and often in plague proportions.