Thread: Flathead flies

Flathead flies

I'm very new to fly fishing and have bought a fly outfit at the local opshop for $5. No clue what the rod is but the reel is a daiwa and I think they would be a 3 or 4 wt. It has sinking line and I am really keen to give it a go on flathead. I catch plenty of them up here (Bowen) on plastics but wondering what flies I could try??

Re: Flathead flies

Hi mmmouse, your 4wt is probably too light for saltwater fishing and casting the normal salt water clouser lures will be a problem. For the sake of 5 bucks though I wouldn't let that stop you from having a go.
    Ask to see some clousers at your local tackle shop and this will give you some idea of what they should look like and they're not that sophisticated. I reckon you could knock up something similar but lighter fairly easily.
    I hope this helps and that you have some fun with it.

Any fish profile or prawn imitation would be a good place to start. Flathead aren't that fussy. You just need to put it in front of them

Hi mmmouse
    if you're interested there is currently an item on ebay that would probably suit your needs.
    Check out:
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/5x-Decive...3D321971748697%3DRIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140212121249%26meid% 3D6c384c56e38a403b8d43dc7d74fa74b6%26pid%3D100102% 26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D4%26sd%3D321971748697

A pink or chartreuse clouser is the fly to start with but a 6 to 7 wt rod is more suited to those flies and a bit of casting practice aswell.

Thanks fellas have bought a couple of small clausers and will give them a crack at the next opportunity