Thread: Haines Hunter 600R - Floor/Stringer rebuild

Haines Hunter 600R - Floor/Stringer rebuild

Looking to replace the flooring and stringers as totally rotten within a 1979/1980 Haines Hunter 600R. Also required is new seats, windscreen and gel coat repaired where I have hit things. I have owned it for 10 years and have never located a builders plate. Located on the central Gold Coast and have several contacts already, though I'm chasing further boat builders/repairers who would be suitable for the job and in the first instance to provide a quote. I have been told of a retired boat builder/repairer by the name of Trevor ...... who used to work on the Shangri-La Cruises boats though have not been able to track down a phone number. Looking for this chap or someone who does this type of work for a living rather than a hobby and can be accountable for their work. Have been told a figure of roughly 5k. I am a novice is this area so any other things that you believe need doing for a boat of this age would be appreciated. Relatively poor photos attached though it is in poor condition internally. Plan on keeping the cuddy cabin format though everything else will be ripped out(fuel tank still suitable). Possibly need repowering as the 1994 Mercury Black Max is getting a bit long in the tooth though the new 4 strokes are a bit heavy, however the new Yamaha 200 appears to weigh only 225kg though won't go further on this as I know there a numerous recent threads on the motor/weight topic. Cheers in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Haines Hunter 600R - Floor/Stringer rebuild

go to arnolds, won't be cheap but will be a good job

Quote Originally Posted by hainsofast View Post
    go to arnolds, won't be cheap but will be a good job
    Probably expect a ridiculous quote from Arnold and poorer quality than he used to produce.