Thread: Moreton 29/8

Moreton 29/8

Headed offshore with a mate Saturday morning to my favourite fishing grounds. On arrival we found that there wasn't very much run but enough wind to give us a little push to get a drift happening. We found a number of bait schools and pulled up about 4 Sargent Bakers but couldn't find anything worthwhile amongst or around the bait. Around midday we were both a bit worried with nothing in the esky but finally we found some fish that were hungry and matched our leads to the drift and pulled up 11 or 12 snapper in 2 hours before heading home. Most fish were mid 40's to 50cm with only one under that at 36cm. My mate managed a Hussar also just to mix it up a bit. Was glad to get onto a few after such a slow morning.
    There was heaps of Wales around doing aerial displays and one was also quite inquisitive of the boat passing straight underneath us.
    Also managed a 69cm Jew at Peel on Friday night along with the lighter snapper in the photo. Interesting the bay snapper is much lighter that the deeper offshore snapper.

Plastics fantastic but bait is better.

Re: Moreton 29/8

nice report mate good feed there
    happy days ahead summer is coming