Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crab pots slashed

Crab pots slashed

Hi there
    I have been crabbing the pin area for many years and over a 5 or 6 year (maybe longer) period I have consistently had the top of my net slashed or the keeper cord slashed and removed. It happened again last week ( I was camping for a couple of days) – 3 pots slashed and crabs removed and one pot stolen (it could not have drifted off). It also most likely happened early morning or night time as they were in shallow water and a high tide would be needed to get a boat to them. The consistency of these events would suggest it is a person who frequents the pin on a regular basis – it is most pro–fessionally done. Has anyone else had this happen in the pin area or elsewhere (the cutting of the top of the net to prevent further crabbing that is)? I am considering setting up a go-pro to try and catch the culprit on video.

Re: Crab pots slashed

Mate if u have pro crabbers in the area this is something they do. It happens in the Rainbow Beach, Tin Can Bay areas.

Hi Rodman
    There are a few pros working the area but did not want to specifically point the finger

I say get the Gopro proof and sent it to the appropriate authorities. Wouldn't hurt to put it up here as well. Nothing like a bit of social media to help the cause.
    AB

Had 2 pots with the top cut open up Cobby Cobby earlier this year. same deal, top cord cut and the goodies gone. don't know if it's a pro or just low life scum...

report it to fisheries they might be able to assist with surveilance. They were apparently using a motion sensor fitted to the float of a pot to catch some other scum bags just south of the pin last Christmas.

Cheers

jim

Thanks Jim
    Will drop a line to the fisheries -- who knows might help

Tie a couple of knots in rope and put couple fish hooks in rope.

The knots are there so u know where they are.

Only lift them once.

just a thought

You are a mean mother seahorse