Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Inflatable for Tender

Which Inflatable for Tender

Hi Guys & Girls

Looking at buying an inflatable and outboard for my other boat (39 foot cruiser - twin screw and shaft drive) so I can moor/anchor and get to shore.

I have no experience with these so I'm all ears as to any recommendations. It would stay on the rear swim platform so housing it is not an issue. I was thinking around the 3 metre size but again open to any suggestions as to size and brand.

Also hp size of outboard? I was thinking 6hp so the missus could use it at times without having to get an RST - thoughts?

Thanks in advance

Re: Which Inflatable for Tender

an inflatable with solid bottom?
    that's what the father in law uses for his sail boat, worked well for us in the past.

Think about what the tender use is going to be. ie if your only going to and from the shore cosider a smaller outboard setup a 6 is a bit of a waiste if your not doing a decent run.

have a look at the Brigg, they seem to be a decent tender with a 2hp
    Garry

Retired Honda Master Tech

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post
    Think about what the tender use is going to be. ie if your only going to and from the shore cosider a smaller outboard setup a 6 is a bit of a waiste if your not doing a decent run.
    Not to mention surprisingly heavy when you are trying to manhandle it leaning over the duckboard.

I hear you - but is 2 hp OK factoring in any tide/current/wind?

Even a 4hp is usually a fair bit lighter than the 6 and will definitely have enough poke if you are worried about it. Just take a good look at the weight of whatever you choose remembering that lifting it in the showroom is nothing remotely close to the real world situation - doesn't matter what the Hp is - none of them float unassisted when dropped. Either that or look at some sort of crane for the back of the big boat.

Thanks for the comments fella's - pointed me in the right direction.