Thread: Isuzu dmax suspension problem

Isuzu dmax suspension problem

Hi guys as stated after 18 months and 30k the rear suspension on my Dmax runs continuously around with inverted rear springs and the shockies are like sponges making my wife feel like she is getting sea sick sometimes ,this is with no boat or caravan on the back ,the car is 2.3 ton with my draw system and the few things I carry in it and the canopy and accesories .
    Every forum I read is telling me I need to upgrade the suspension and that is the path I am going to go at this stage . I approached Isuzu brisbane with the problem after going to numerous suspension specialist who when they see the rear say it's stuffed and explain to me how the spring is made up of a primary and secondary spring and why it's stuffed and how everyone upgrades their suspension, I approached Brisbane Isuzu who I purchased the car off about this and they said bring it down .

i delivered the car for assessment and an hour later they come back to me and tell me they weighed the car and got a front axel weight of 1.29 t and a rear axel weight of 1.31 giving a total of 2.6 which is 300 kg difference , I disputed this and said I had weighed the car at aweigh bridge and got exactly 2.32 t , and they where going to make a warranty claim based on the figures they had .
    This rang alarm bells to me with such a larg difference so I drove directly to Caboolture to the government certified weigh bridge and they weighed the dmax without me onboard again and got a GVM of 2.28 ton 40 kg different to my last measurement and still 300 kg difference . I phoned Brisbane isuzu and told them that I have a signed certificate of GVM and their weights are wrong and to submit my claim for warranty with the correct weight to which they said they would .
    2 days latter I talk to the same bloke at service centre and he tell me that Isuzu told him it falls within the boundaries of being all good ,( inverted springs acceptable and that's how they work) well after a discussion yesterday they want my car back to take it to 2 other places to weigh the front and rear seperate ,they are talking the grain terminal at pinkenba and some other place and need my car for another day.
    Well after talking to the wife I can't be bothered going into battle over a suspension that to all and sundry is obviously inadequate and not fit for use and not what was advertised ( spirit of truck, and heavy duty suspension both mentioned on ther web site ) so now I am going to fix it myself but still don't believe a new 45 K car should need new suspension considering I have been off-road minimally and towed a 1.3 t camper 6000 km on the bitumen and carry minimal weight in comparison to what is advertised.

Having said said that I like my car but be aware you apparently need to take them in for a new suspension if you expect it to do any work , WHAT A JOKE . Has anyone else enjoyed spending 2-2.5 grand on there new truck because they sell it with crap suspension ,thanks for reading and please post your experiences in relation to after sales service on your 4WD .

Feel free to tell me if I am being unreasonable and thanks again for letting me express my feelings on this issue . Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Re: Isuzu dmax suspension problem

Matt your not being unreasonable..........maybe just a little unrealistic.

It's not just an Isuzu problem all of the utes have the same issues...........even way back in the 80's the Hilux Rodeo etc all had soft crappy suspension.

Aftermarket suspension is always better IMO and I factor this in when i'm looking at vehicles at purchase time........First major improvement on the LC 200 was to fit new suspension capable of doing the job day in day out no if's or but's.

I think of all 4x4's as a blank canvas from new and consider these upgrades as part of the never ending mindless money drain of what I think are improvements.

Yep 45k on a new car is not loose change and yes it should have suspension that is fit for purpose......but they don't unfortunately.

So if you want it right open your wallet once again buy the right gear first time around with new aftermarket suspension and enjoy it once fitted.....

IMO I suggest you look into Dobinson springs and Bilstein shocks...............stay away from the big chain 4x4 places and their systems......talk to a suspension only specialist.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Thanks dan sort of what I am doing I have my quotes from suspension specialists , looks like medium blue max rear spring and bilsteins all round and springs to suit the front so far or blue max springs and shocks but I think I will go go the bilsteins . Matt

Mate i'd talk to Dobinson directly i'm pretty sure they are down your way?..........They will make a set of rears that will be tailored for your requirements..........people who sell "medium" "hard' "soft".....suspension look at everything as a one size fits all........Leafs need to be right they are no where near as forgiving as coils.

Ok mate they are just down the road from me at brendale thanks again Matt

I've had 4 Dmaxes at work and the older ones (2012) roll horribly through corners but the new one (2013/14) doesn't but has a much rougher ride. I've got no idea why but thought maybe they upped the suspension on the newer models

Yeah agree the problem is just not Dmax related. You could root around with Isuzu for ages if that is the sort of games they want to play but even if they replaced the leafs you will be back to the same issue again eventually. Aside from Dobinsons have a look at Ultimate Suspension as they also get a good rap from people fitting them. If you are going to keep the truck long term I reckon get a 2 inch lift with front and rear springs to suit your requirements and you wont look back.

I agree with the other guys, it;s not fair but it;'s how it is.

I have an RC colorado (2011) and upgraded the suspension late last year, very very happy with the kit.

It's an Outback Armour kit. 50mm lift with the EFS torsion bard in the front. soooooo much smoother.

Kit price was about $1700 for everything.

Suspension will be the first modification in my next vehicle purchase, it makes a huge difference.

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Thanks guys I have just left Dobinsons and they have a discount thing happening full kit to suit my car and weight I'm going tone carrying like you said Dan just over $1700 fitted so it's going in tomorrow morning I'm over it . Thanks everyone I new I had to do it but I felt I needed to share my experience and how wrong I think it is , at least I can claim it on my tax I guess thanks again Matt

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    Thanks guys I have just left Dobinsons and they have a discount thing happening full kit to suit my car and weight I'm going tone carrying like you said Dan just over $1700 fitted so it's going in tomorrow morning I'm over it . Thanks everyone I new I had to do it but I felt I needed to share my experience and how wrong I think it is , at least I can claim it on my tax I guess thanks again Matt

Don't worry Matt you will be gratefull in time to come and thank yourself later on.............But once you have experienced the benefits of good quality suspension you'll find it hard not to do every vehicle you will ever own...

What would you have bought with that $1700 any way Matt?......Jeez the new Saltigas look good hey?

I'll shut up now.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan5 View Post
    What would you have bought with that $1700 any way Matt?......Jeez the new Saltigas look good hey?

I'll shut up now.
    I could have taken all the boys at work a charter on SEA PROBE or I could have ,bugger it who cares it's only money at least when I tow my next van up your way I won't have to do the suspension . The preparations begin bahahaha.. Matt

It does not matter what brand of new ute you buy and after owning a few types all factory suspension is rubbish.A "chippie" mate bought a new BT50 single cab and always has around 500-600 kg of tools etc in the tray.He took it back to the dealer and said this is designed as a "one tonner" and should not drag its arse when loaded.They agreed and put aftermarket springs at there cost rectifying the problem.My suspension bloke reckons the new Colorado has the worst factory suspension and his scrap metal skip proved it.By the way does anyone wants the full factory suspension off a D40 Navara ? Perhaps use it for a trailer rebuild ???because that is all it is good for !! I fitted a full EFS kit to the Navara and could not be happier and I previously used EFS on the DMAX/Rodeo.

What's the verdict on the Dobinson lift? Happy?

Had it back for 1.5 hrs but yeah more than happy especially on the road ,going to find some dirt road this week end and give it a go but it drive way better and sits just right thanks guys I feel heaps better now so does the car...Matt