Page 1 of 18 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Re-power Cruisemaster 700 with diesel

Re-power Cruisemaster 700 with diesel

I have a Whittney cruisemaster 700 which has a 5.7l mercruiser 300hp carb engine with a bravo 1 drive. I am going to re power later this year and have decided that I will go diesel.

I was looking at staying with petrol and replacing with a mercruiser 350 MPI seacore with a bravo 3 drive. I got quotes and researched different options until my head was about to fall off. I contacted Captain Rednut to have a look at my set up sometime back and have been conversing with Jim for sometime (sorry if I have been a pain Jim) and he has given me a great deal of ideas and advice on what he thinks should be the re- power. The cost from petrol to diesel re-power is quite a few drinks and had many conversations with the wife on the subject to get approval to spend the extra dollars that I will never recover in the short or long term.

I made my mind up to go with the diesel as follows.

• I carry 320 litres of fuel which doesn't give me a great range with the petrol inboard. I plan on spending 2-3 nights out when weather permits and the diesel will let me achieve this.
    • The engine I am looking at is a Yanmar 315hp with either a Bravo 3 or a ZT370. I am leaving that up to rednuts to work out. This is going to give me a better cruise speed than the petrol which this hull will be happier with. There are the bare electrics on the engine so I wont have electronic problems that can sometime drive you insane as I have had before.
    • The obvious one that its a little harder to get diesel to explode but the fuel injected petrol inboards are certainly much safer then years ago. The wife also said she would feel safer which sold her on the idea.