Thread: Old faithful rebirth

Old faithful rebirth

In my middle age I am finally starting to learn that buying quality rods to start with would have reduced the number of rods I have tucked up under the pergola, which should all be thrown away, after retiring them.

But there was one rod I bought when I was a teenager, I don't remember what caused me to break away from the mainstream "Cheapies" I was accustomed to buying, I don't remember how much I paid for it, but I think I stumbled on one rod that was to be the weapon of choice for many years. I can't imagine how many fish it has caught over that time - lots! Having converted to braid and mostly soft plastics, the old faithful would only be brought as a backup or if my crew consisted of complete novices that didn't own a rod of their own. Binding has come loose while being used, and I would dive into my tackle box for a quick and makeshift little binding repair to prevent line guides from falling off or the line wrapping itself in binding loose near the guide - severely hampers your cast when this happens!!

Then last week I took two others out for a fish, I gave them my best rods and brought old faithful out for me to use. One of the other rods suddenly had an issue. One line guide had apparently corroded through closest to the blank where there should have been epoxy. Buggar! Rethread the line through and continue fishing with the 3rd guide removed. It's time to have this professionally fixed, off to Rockys Rod building I go!