Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about a under 5.5m half cabin plate boat.

Thinking about a under 5.5m half cabin plate boat.

Have had a look at a stessco 4.8 and Formosa 5.2 , maybe bluefin?
    A fairly broad question I know, looking to do some protected water boating mainly. As you can tell, we are complete novices!!

any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Thinking about a under 5.5m half cabin plate boat.

Maybe have a look at extreme boats too.
    Darren

Hey mate I had a stessco 4.85 with a 60hp yammi on the back, good rig used it offshore fishing and for diving, however I would be looking at a proper plate boat that has welded floors and a minimum for 4mm bottom and make sure it's high tensile marine plate. Majority of the production boats are pressed hulls with carpet over ply wood floors, so kill tanks aren't possible or underfloor storage. Extreme, surtees and barcrusher are well priced for what they are all depends how much your willing to spend. Good luck!!

id have a look at the tabs southern 510

Thanks for the advice guys, of course price is a consideration so we are looking for a second hand one really. Been to a few dealers but they seem (understandably) to try and talk up whatever they have in the yard. They also are quick to talk down some popular brands like Quintrex also - thin and weak?
    there are so many brands, sizes, shapes etc that the choice and range is huge, compared to the motorcycle industry where our current money consuming interests lie right now!
    we'll keep looking around and troll the forum for a while, these forums are where the actual users normally praise or diss the various brands without prejudice so I"m sure a trend will be seen over time.
    I might ask some stupid questions from time to time.....

are you looking at alloy or glass? for the bay a nice little 5m glass boat would also fit the bill

Mike
    Tangles KFC