Thread: Advice pls - Lifting the Prado

Advice pls - Lifting the Prado

Hi All,

I'm after some advice on lifting the Prado. I'm not sure what series it is, but it's 4 months old if that helps.

Diesel Auto.

After our trip to Fraser a bit of extra height would be good. I don't want to detract to much from the day to day drive as it's not used off road that much.

Can I get away with a kit from ARB, (or similar) shocks & springs. Will I have to increase my tyre size as well? (Currently 17")

Also, I do tow a 1.5T boat occasionally. Normally just the 10 mins to the boat ramp, but twice a year we may do a long trip to Rainbow Beach or Coffs etc so is it worth going for stronger rear coil springs?

Anything else I need to consider?

Troy

Re: Advice pls - Lifting the Prado

Definately don't go too tall. Typically you can get away with about a 2 inch lift without having to worry about diff drops etc but that said, when I had my previous Navara done, I did end up with an annoying vibration if I left the hubs locked at above about 80Kph.

ARB or a specialist suspension place should be able to sort you out. As for tyres - that is up to you. Bigger tyres will improve the capabilities of your vehicle but they will impact on your fuel economy and acceleration as well.

I wouldn't increase your spring rating if you are only towing occasionally - look at airbags instead. That way you can enjoy a decent ride day to day as well.

Ring arb and then ring allset springs in Caloundra. He will be half the price. One man show so he has no one to blame. Just got my patrol lifted for $900. Got progressive coils in the back, rides very nice towing and without towing.

Just remember that just a suspension lift doesn't really give more clearence, A combination of suspension lift and bigger tyres will.

17" is your wheel size Your tyre size is probably 265/65R17 or about 30.5 inches. You could probably go another inch taller without drama - maybe 285/65R17 but you'd have to check. Legally you can go 2 inches taller, I think, but you might affect the speedo and the engine performance.
    Best check on pradopoint about that, and the lift. The risk with a lift greater than an inch or so is affecting CV angles resulting in failures and hassle, and potentially making the ride too stiff/harsh if you go for heavy duty springs and shocks but then mostly drive around without any load.

I'd probably stick with ARB or one of the larger players as you know they see heaps of Prados through their workshops each week.

Thanks guys, I'll shoot round to ARB and get their take on it as well. I'm expecting the factory fitted tyres to last around 30k Km's at which point I'll looking into upgrading to 18" rims ;-)

Thanks again
    Troy

Troy,

There are so many options for suspension these days that it can be hard to choose. I have the same model Prado as you (150 series), although mines 4 years old now, and when I bought it I just went for ARB's Old Man Emu suspension because it was easy. On my previous Prado I messed around with the suspension a bit and had 3 different sets of springs and 2 sets of shocks over it's life and quite frankly what I have now on my current Prado has been great.

So my advice is go to TJM or ARB and buy their stuff. People will argue about brand X is better or brand Y is cheaper but at the end of the day the big brand stuff works and they have dealers everywhere if you need something.

40-50mm lift is pretty standard and 50mm is the max that is legal.

In regards to ground clearance going to larger tyres is the way to do this. You mention going to 18" rims but that is not the answer. You simply need to buy larger tyres that will fit onto your existing 17" rims. I presume you have the GXL (as this is the volume selling model) in which case you can go to a 275/75/17 or 265/70/17 tyre with no problems. The 265/70 is about 1" taller whereas the 275's are about half of this from memory. If you have a GX they have skinnier 6.5" wide rims so you'll have to buy a new set of wider rims to suit the larger tyres.

If you really want a lot of info check out pradopoint.com where you'll find everything you need to know and more, but there's probably so much info there that you'll just end up confused with more questions than answers.

Good stuff thanks Andoland. Yes it is the GXL, there's an ARB shop in Capalaba so I'll pop in there see what they have to say. Thanks also re the tyres. Will make it cheaper when replacing them not having to buy rims as well.

Troy

Any good suspension place will fit quality gear. If you think arb etc are the only ones that do this, you have been played. I have had plenty of experience with these companies and they don't care about anything other than taking your money.

With regards to the clearance issue. A 2" lift is heaps as this will get your in and out better and also raise the side steps. These are what cop a flogging off-road. You will not get hung up on your diff if you take the right lines.

Quote Originally Posted by TroyVIS View Post
    Hi All,

I'm after some advice on lifting the Prado. I'm not sure what series it is, but it's 4 months old if that helps.

Diesel Auto.

After our trip to Fraser a bit of extra height would be good. I don't want to detract to much from the day to day drive as it's not used off road that much.

Can I get away with a kit from ARB, (or similar) shocks & springs. Will I have to increase my tyre size as well? (Currently 17")

Also, I do tow a 1.5T boat occasionally. Normally just the 10 mins to the boat ramp, but twice a year we may do a long trip to Rainbow Beach or Coffs etc so is it worth going for stronger rear coil springs?

Anything else I need to consider?

Troy

Try calling Jolin Automotive Engineers in 15 Clarence St Coorparoo, These guys are 4wd suspension specialist's and they come highly recommended.

G

Up uh h. Ll

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gday Troy,
    Just priced up a 2" lift for my Navara and Old Man Emu, EFS, and TJM XGS are all within less than $100 of each other.
    A good mate of mine just had EFS fitted to his brand new Dmax X Runner and he loves them.
    He used Redcliffe Springs at Burpengary.

My Pajero is booked in next Friday for a lift and airbags, have a talk to the guys at Direct Suspension at Brendale I got a really good price from them.

Im getting a package to suit the heavy ball weight of my camper trailer, provied lift and not comprimise the ride when the vehicle is unloaded, they use EFS shocks and springs and Firestone airbags along with a three year warranty.
    Cheers Axl

The big chains will only flog one brand. My ranger got done by Midas at tingalpa. He does race cars and 4bys. Have a chat with him and he'll buy the right gear to do a quality job according to what you want. I'd hazard a guess that the extra money you will spend on blisten shocks and king springs on the prado will be money very well spent.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

4 months old, you'll probably do your drive train warranty if you lift it. Years ago suzuki denies a friend of my fathers a drive train waranty because he put taller rims on, so bigger tyres might be an issue as well..