Thread: 6 Year Old Lands 50 Pound Alligator Gar

6 Year Old Lands 50 Pound Alligator Gar

"Not All Who Wander Are Lost"

Re: 6 Year Old Lands 50 Pound Alligator Gar

There is no way that thing is even close to 50lb

Quote Originally Posted by -Shay- View Post
    There is no way that thing is even close to 50lb
    I think the camera angle does it little justice. Looks solid when compared to the size of the esky, the tent, and the little girl. I'm sure old mate knows his sizes.

SharkbaitTV,

Have seen a few vids of those gator gars over the years. They grow to huge sizes. Look like great fun. Have you ever tried them as shark bait? I reckon if you dropped one whole with a 20/0 and some cable off South Padre Is or even the Panhandle you'd garner some serious toothie interest. Plenty of our fresh water species of eel and fish in Australia bode well as shark bait. Great vids.

Cuzza

she caught three of them and that one was the medium size one...the one in the video is about 52 inches or so, putting the gar at about 40-50 pounds.

this was the biggest one for sure over 50 pounds..

the gopro does not do a good job of showing the size of a catch..compare how it looks in the film to the iphone pics...i have even had it make 9 foot shark next to the yak look small somehow.
    "Not All Who Wander Are Lost"