Thread: fastach clips

fastach clips

Has anyone used mustad fastach clips, and do you have an opinion on them?

Re: fastach clips

Been using the small ones mate for bass, no dramas. The slightly bigger ones on Cod and no isues. I usually use Normans but these are just as good
    Cheers

Steven

I found the two smaller sizes a bit small for my eyesight and fumbling fingers. I use size 2 for Snapper and they are brilliant allowing quick easy changes between jig heads and colours. Never lost a fish because of them and in fact never had any issues.
    Regards to all Dick

They look good and a lot cheaper than norman Speed clips.
    Cheers
    Ray

Thanks guys, much appreciated

Braeden snaps are similar and Decoy did some a few years ago that were a pigtailed swivel that were very good.
    Jack.

I have been using a home made version for around 10 years since shown how to make them by a mate of mine.

They are made up on 180lb Malin Hard-Wire stainless wire, and can be done while sitting in front of the TV, and still not miss the show. Takes less than a minute to knock one up. If you snag up a lure and need to send down the tackle back, the worst that will happen is the pig tail closes down on the lure clip and may have to be cut off with side cutters once the lure has been retrieved. We used to use 50lb coast lock snaps, and quite often had them open up with a fish on. Lost a few lures due to that happening. Never had a problem since using this version.

As you can see from the shot of these survivors from last years trip to Weipa, they are lined up and ready to go into action when we next get up that way. Okay, so maybe the hooks could use a small sharpen up. As they say in the classics - one owner, low mileage, only driven to church on a Sunday.

cheers

Jeff

Good looking homemade clips. Wouldn't mind a few pointers on how your bending them up so neatly because I will definitely have a go at making some.