Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Mustang 24 rebuild

Re: Mustang 24 rebuild

It has come up great. Are you going the full monty with a hardtop and full screens?

Scottar :
    In the past on this size trailer boat, I have gone for a standing height bimini with removable screen infill and side curtains, an overhead S/S rocket launcher to hold the outriggers, rods, anchor light. steaming light , and cockpit flood lights. I've never been a fan of full camping covers.
    Regarding a hardtop, now that I'm thinking about it, I don't think it will work with the bridge-deck layout. It will be a flat structure set way too high to look right aesthetically.
    I used the bimini system on a Pride Sunseeker (Bridge-deck model) I had over 20 years ago (was it really that long ago??), and it looked really good and was super practical.

Donutmaster: Thanks man. I kinda like it too...

Now i"m just waiting for it to come home from the screen guy.

Waiting, waiting...

Got the boat back yesterday, and I'm quite happy with the new windscreen and cabin side perspex. Wiper sits a bit low, but hopefully I'll get used to it.

26.5.17 003.jpg 26.5.17 005.jpg 26.5.17 004.jpg 26.5.17 008.jpg

I managed to get the bow roller and bow rail on, after fully polishing the boat again to get rid of all the black sikaflex smears from fitting the gunwale rubbers and the side windows..
    May modify the bow rail and figure out how to incorporate a "Jacobs Ladder" for boarding over the nose from the beach.
    The bow roller is from Lone Star and is a nice bit of kit.

26.5.17 009.jpg

The intention is to get a 9kg Rocna anchor and a Lone Star drum winch.

Apart from making the side pockets and fitting the transverse bunk windows/ports, the major "boat building" is just about done and I'm having a nice change of pace with fit out, making it all pretty and most importantly, putting on the jewellery!

The teak that I played with over the last week came up OK, but it doesn't look new, so I'll have to give that a bit more consideration. I'll get some on the boat tomorrow and see how it looks fitted...

I put the boat and trailer onto the weigh bridge on the way home and I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it only weighs 2200kg on the trailer. That's about half a ton less than I was expecting.
    The prop calculator is giving some very exciting performance figures with the 300 Suzuki...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hi all.

It has been quite a while since my last update, as things have been very busy.
    But I did manage to get a bit done on the boat.

I removed the old tank and had a new alloy 320 litre tank made. I fitted 18mm breather so it would fill quickly without spitting back, as often happens with a single 1/2" breather.

The tank area had to be properly prepared - all the end grain has been sanded and given 3 good coats of "everdure" to totally seal the timber.
    JulyAug 17 369.jpg

Next, flow-coated the whole area and fitted the tank onto a few small nylon spacers so air can circulate.
    JulyAug 17 383.jpg
    You may notice that the tank has been plumbed and the wiring well underway.
    Also, there is water everywhere, as I had just finished hoseing the cockpit out. It is by far the best way to get rid of the itchies...

There's a 750 auto bilge pump in the sub-floor sump, and a 2000gph in the plastic enclosure.

On either side, 100mm up off the deck, are the floors of the the side pockets. They have been glassed in and the end-grain everdured.
    I have built the side pockets, but no pictures yet,

So, as things have quietened down again, I hope to have a big push in the next few days and make some progress.
    I'm waiting for an air stapler and S/S staples to turn up from the States, so I can have a go at some simple upholstery - the side pockets and head-linings maybe...

Next is to finish the side pockets, start trimming and finish the wiring, which will take me a while as it's not my favourite part of building boats...

Hi all.

A bit of progress on the old Mustang.
    The cockpit was looking so unbelievably daggy, that I had to do something about it.
    My intention was to put carpet down, but it's a real shame to spill fishy bits on new carpet, so I decided to fair and paint it all.

So it would look factory, I dry fitted 12mm x 12mm x 1.4mm alloy angle around all the floor hatches. By far the easiest and quickest way to get perfect lines, but it still took the best part of a day to get right,

I then got out the grinder and the epoxy and micro-balloons and prepped the area in readiness for high build:
    1.9.17 007.jpg 1.9.17 008.jpg

Lots and lots of masking, then highbuild, sanding and highbuild again:
    1.9.17 038.jpg 1.9.17 040.jpg

All sanded again, more masking, and gloss painted all the boarders.

Next, left it to cure properly, lots more masking then spray the non-skid:
    1.9.17 043.jpg 1.9.17 045.jpg

The hatches were done off the boat:
    1.9.17 046.jpg

Strip the masking off and start to fit up the pre-made alloy dress rings, but the cruddy old inner hull sides spoil the effect.
    1.9.17 047.jpg

I had intended to line the side pockets, but for some reason I decided to flowcoat the offending areas.
    So another few hours produced this - (there is a spare piece of alloy half under the stbd side pocket, in case you wondered):
    1.9.17 049.jpg 1.9.17 050.jpg 1.9.17 051.jpg

Now, I'm happy!

Hopefully, more soon,

Very nice. Good work it looks great. Can you still access ( from the new hatch ) to run cables etc
    Jamie

Saltwater fishing, boat mad but has a job that gets in the way.

giddyup58 the boat is coming up better than new and have been watching this post like many. I know its hard to put a time on these types of projects as its very much like restoring a vintage car in some ways. You really don't know what you will find until you start to open things up and your best plans go to crap in a heart beat. You had a firm plan from the start unlike my project which keeps growing and start to wonder if I will ever get to the end.

Love watching the transformation and take my hat off to you, keep the photos coming.

Hi all.

Couple of quick snaps:

Took a while to wire up the trailer breakaway system properly and the tow vehicle electric brake system, but finally done.
    IMG_1609.jpg

Everything else on the trailer was ready, so I got a RWC and took off to Cleveland MRD to have trailer measured.
    Pleasantly surprised with how well it tows, but the truck's a bit gutless...

I was supposed to get it all into this car-park, but that was never going to happen. I parked across the road, but they refused to inspect it unless it was in the car-park.
    IMG_1601.jpg IMG_1603.jpg

Up anchor, and off to Zillmere. No sweat - registered trailer and boat!

I managed to upholster the side pockets in the cockpit and fitted the seats. Notice, a gas suspension base on my side:
    IMG_1607.jpg

So, a couple of small things to finish, then sea-trial time!

Can't see the attachments mate.

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

Hi all.

Update time.

After registering the boat and trailer, I took the boat to a timber interior specialist to help out with the teak fit out.
    I was in a hurry to get it done and with work commitments I wasn't going to get to it any time soon, so I farmed it out, however that turned into an expensive disaster. It's being remedied now, but at the expense of nothing else being addressed for weeks.

I won't even post photos of the disgraceful job that was presented.

Anyhoo, heaps else to get done...

I was very keen to get the boat in the water to make sure everything was in working order and that the fit up was right regarding engine height and prop selection. We did a major service on the Suzuki which took the best part of half a day and continued with the wiring. My deepest thanks to my good mate Cyril who has been invaluable in his assistance with all things mechanical for the past number of years. He looked after the service and the wiring.

Fitted dual batteries and battery switch, tidied wiring and essentially got everything working properly.

I had to spend a bit of time on the front hatch to make it weather proof and I think that's just about right now, which is an odd thing to say considering I have it taped down with green tape in the photo!

So, no more excuses - time to launch:

IMG_1701.jpg

Trailer lived up to expectations and was not a joy to use. It's going to need a bit of fettling before I'm happy with it.

The boat however, was amazing!

Handles fine at low speed
    IMG_1703.jpg

Handles even better at high speed
    IMG_1705.jpg IMG_1707.jpg

We half filled the fuel tank - 160 litres, but didn't add any water to the bow tank, which takes 120 litres.
    The prop that came with the motor was a Suzuki 16x18.5" which we thought was not enough pitch, so I bought a hub kit for a Mercury Laser II 21" prop, thinking it would be a better fit.
    The pitch was close, but the motor hit interrupter, so we may need another 2" of pitch, but the diameter was definitely too small - 14.5" as opposed to 16".
    It didn't want to hold the plane under 4,000rpm (which was a respectable 25 odd knots). The bigger blade area of the Suzuki style propellers should help it hold on at much lower revs.
    Also, the trim tabs weren't connected. When they are, a touch of down tab will help greatly.

So, the $64,000 question: How fast does it go?

Straight out of the box, no tabs, wrong prop, hitting interrupter - 43knots.

Not bad in a 25 footer...

Next - trailer mods, finish teak work, finish wiring, fit VHF, fit drum winch and anchor gear, more wiring, fit live bait tank plumbing, finish stainless work, canopy, clears and cabin soft furnishings.

Still quite a bit to do.

Giddyup58

I have just this morning read your entire rebuild thus far.

Although I haven’t worked in my trade as a shipwrights/boatbuilder for more that two and a half decades, I take my hat off to you.

I would love to have the time, the money, the dedication and skills that you have shown to undertake and complete such a rebuild.

Fantastic job and can’t wait for the completion, launching and final review on its performance.

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

43 knots zooooooooooooooooom

Well that should have you at spot X quickly.

Looks great and look forward to the final photos and results. Great work.

Wow!!!! This is Amazing. You've done such an amazing job from where it came. Well done Sir.

Hi all.

I manage to get a bit done to the boat overt Xmas.
    Wiring is basically finished, but for the electric loo and the anchor winch, and the fresh water system is done.

Pump room, where WC would usually go,
    Pipes running under port side cupboard,
    Heat exchanger, still needing hot water feed from motor,
    Sink filling...
    IMG_1734.jpg IMG_1733.jpg IMG_1732.jpg IMG_1731.jpg

I'm talking with upholsterers at the moment to get the Bimini happening and the rest underway...

You may recall my earlier worries about my drum-braked trailer...
    Well, I bit the bullet and purchased a very lightly used Tinka 3500kg trailer which was sitting under a 773L for the past 25 odd years. No rust whatsoever, and electric/hydraulic disc brakes! I admit, I was very taken with it and was definitely wearing those legendary rose coloured glasses.

Unfortunately, it was not until after I had paid for it and taken possession, that I realised the calipers were totally rusted and were going to cost $600 to refurbish, the 11" top hat discs were unusable and totally unavailable new and the hubs with their monster parallel bearings were worthless without new discs.

The wheels were 14" Landcruiser 6 stud and nothing was going to be easy to get the brakes operational, so eventually after much research, I decided to lose the lot except for the wheels and tyres, and replace with new gear from Active Fabrications at Beenleigh.

Further, the SensaBrake unit on the trailer was an old original (and probably faulty) and needed a proprietary in car controller to work. My Tekonsha P3 (the latest and greatest controller available), was totally incompatible, and a new bespoke in car controller (requiring a pressure pad on the brake pedal!) cost around $500 plus installation.

I had no real choice other than to completely rebuild the brake system, which included removing the existing overlay stub axles and fitting new stub axles and caliper mounting plates with parallel Dexter bearings, new gal hub discs and new gal calipers. I also put my hand up for a new AlKo IQ7 controller, which although paid for and promised last week, may turn up next week...

Here's a couple photos of the drum braked "Franken-Trailer"

IMG_1724.jpg IMG_1725.jpg

It tows really well and I went to a lot of trouble to keep it very low, but it just didn't "look" right and I was never happy with drum brakes on a boat trailer.
    Turns out I could have changed over to disc brakes with the IQ7 for under $2,000...

Here's the replacement when I got it home.
    Note the 3" American style tow hitch. It didn't last long...

IMG_1729.jpg

Refurbishment begins:

IMG_1838.jpg IMG_1845.jpg IMG_1849.jpg IMG_1858.jpg

Given that I had decided to strip it to its component pieces, it made sense to give it as much protection as possible, and in that regard, I followed Ozscott's advice used a 125mm grinder with wire brush fitting to surface prep the entire structure, scrupulously cleaned and degreased it with Aqua Clean, sprayed 2 coats of Xtoll rust buster followed by 2 coats of Xtoll easy gal, the 2 coats of spray gal to get the colour right.

The axles got the Xtoll treatment followed by a coat of red paint, and the springs and hangers got Xtolled and black spray gal.

I gave the fiberglass mudguards a spray job and 2 pac'd the wheels as well.
    Fitted all new Viking rollers and 63mm bearing buddies, and modified the winch post to suit the Mustang.

New LED lights, new brake lines and a new tow hitch and except for the new stickers, it's all but ready.
    Wired the tow Disco to suit the IQ7, now just waiting for the actual IQ7 so I can fit it, then take it to Leo at United to commission it.

AlKo will give a 12 month warranty if you fit it yourself, but will extend it to a 3 year warranty if one of their authorised/approved distributors does it and sends in the paperwork. Fair enough.

So...
    There's still a bit to do yet, but at least it is useable.

One foot after the other...