Page 1 of 11 12345678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Breaksea Spit ( Hervey Bay ) M & G. November 2014

Cool Breaksea Spit ( Hervey Bay ) M & G. November 2014

They will be a few members heading to this area at a date to be decided, but the 14th -16th looks good. The 14th is a Friday.

The usual terms are... get to Hervey Bay either Thursday evening and sleep in boat at ramp park and or depart ramp Friday morning and fish over the spit, then drop the anchor inside the Cape ( Roonies ). Fish all day, Saturday, returning Sunday to ramp and home.

The Black Marlin were thick last year and ate anything trolled. The reef dwellers were fair game and most eskies were filled. Plenty of GT and Pelagic action around the Shaols for those interested.

More information will be added shortly.

For now...

You will travel 300 kilometers plus on this trip so be fuel aware. We do a fuel dump on the island near the Cape and refuel Saturday morning / Sunday morning.

We raft up together and share cooking duties. At night, large yakka appear and you would do well to jig a few of these up.

The servo at the Urangan Boat ramp is a pain in the butt, due to self serve credit card payment thing and I suggest you fuel up on the way... maybe South Maryborough ( Matilda ).

cheers LP

Re: Breaksea Spit ( Hervey Bay ) M & G. November 2014

Matilda has no fuel ATM, maybe back up in a few months. New caltex on crn of Walker and John has good access for boat fueling.
    Chong

Are you promising the same weather as last year Phill?

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by TREVELLY View Post
    Are you promising the same weather as last year Phill?
    You'll have to speak to Horse about that It was great, wasn't it ?

Tides...... are OK
    Attached Images Attached Images

Some of these new members are good for comic relief

It's a good thing no one takes them seriously.

Looking forward to it Phill

Trev

I'm keen this year.

Will try to make it, but got a few obstacles
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

Forget the crab event, its very exclusive and only some people get invited.

What an unusual group of posts we have here. I was going to comment something I thought would be funny, but I am actually not sure which of them are tongue in cheek, and which ones are actually serious.

For those that are joking, good one, for those that are serious, really?

For the record, tongue in cheek

G'day guys. Was just wondering if anyone is looking for a deckie for this trip? Have herd some great reports from this area over the time and would love to get involved. Have plenty of deckie experience plus I used to own a 6m quinny so I've got a reasonable understanding of boats I guess. More than happy to chip in for expenses as well. Anyways if anyone is looking for an extra please feel free to PM me.

Corey
    Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Is there a back up date for this trip.
    I can't make that weekend, but any other weekend around I can do.
    If you have a bad weather second option, I might be able to be in on that one.

Not sure about a back up as the weather folks ( Horse ) has promised small seas and light winds

But probably the following weekend if it's too bad.

Just a reminder guys that I will be fishing the Hervey Bay game fishing comp again this year and it is held the weekend before on a similar Friday morning arrangement as to the meet and greet.They offer a fuel barge and accommodation on a mothership with toilets,food,water,ice and booze if needed.ive been there the past two years and its a great event with a few boats just entering to get the best of the mothership Accomadation and fuel barge to have a great weekend out reef fishing!So if anyone is unable to go the week after check it out on Hervey Bay game fishing clubs website.