Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Cape. Fishing. Camping. info required

Question The Cape. Fishing. Camping. info required

Hi people,

If I were to head to the Cape at the right time of the year I need to know something.

1... What do I NOT take.

I know what to take as far as vehicle, camp, fishing, clothing, food etc. I also know that everyone that makes this trip takes way too much, food, fuel, spares, fishing gear etc etc........ so I am really asking if anyone has done this trip maybe twice or more and learned a few lessons they wouldn't mind passing on.

To assist you in replying.

I have a 2013 Colorado Space Cab with fully sealed / enclosed checkerplate canopy. Manual. Diesel. Dual battery with Red Arc. Diesel care filters. ARB bar.

I have many years of offroad experience.

2...... What did you take that turned out invaluable, but not considered that , at the time of packing ?

cheers LP
    Kingfisher Painting Solutions:- Domestic and Commercial.

For further information, contact details, quotes or advice - Click Here

Re: The Cape. Fishing. Camping. info required

Nylon nuts to put the numberplate back on after it vibrated off (then got stolen but thats another story).

Lived up there for 12 years. Take a boat and go to Mapoon.

I had a 10 ft tinnie on top, wish it was a 12.Also wish I had a map of all the hard to find locations that I read about once I got back. Now, a gps with the 4wd mapping would be first on the list. It would be easier doing it with another vehicle if you're going to the remotest places.

Quote Originally Posted by SHOOTER1 View Post
    Lived up there for 12 years. Take a boat and go to Mapoon.
    Thanks. I have heard a lot about Mapoon, from others as well as AF member Daintreeboy. It may not be on our destination list.. ??

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post