Thread: Pumicestone Passage

Re: Pumicestone Passage

running in a new motor in the passage is sure to remove the paint quickly from the prop and the skeg. There are plenty of shallows and shoals and some of the marked channels take you through some of the shallowest waters if you follow them. Esp around Lime Pocket up to the green marker at the cod hole.

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    running in a new motor in the passage is sure to remove the paint quickly from the prop and the skeg. There are plenty of shallows and shoals and some of the marked channels take you through some of the shallowest waters if you follow them. Esp around Lime Pocket up to the green marker at the cod hole.
    This just makes it more interesting right?

Or am I missing something?

Quote Originally Posted by dadstinny View Post
    This just makes it more interesting right?

Or am I missing something?
    If you are in that size of boat, just watch your wind against tide in the stretch between Toorbul and White Patch.
    Was real sketchy there on Friday in a 4m tinny with only a moderate load, let alone 4 people, just wanted you to be aware.
    Had heaps better sessions up in the back channels around the mouth of Coochin than the Ripples by the way.

Quote Originally Posted by fishychrissy View Post
    If you are in that size of boat, just watch your wind against tide in the stretch between Toorbul and White Patch.
    Was real sketchy there on Friday in a 4m tinny with only a moderate load, let alone 4 people, just wanted you to be aware.
    Had heaps better sessions up in the back channels around the mouth of Coochin than the Ripples by the way.
    Cheers mate! thanks for the advice!

Ill give Coochin a go, was going to chuck some pots around there and have a flick !

I am not dead set on going to the ripples just want to clock up some hours on the new motor so really just driving down the channel to get the run in hours done and dusted as quickly as possible.

What where you catching and what where you using?

no worries mate.

Had at least half a dozen flatties there last time at the mouth of Coochin, on the Eastern side, all on Gulp Shrimp and Squidgie Drop Bears. A couple went 65 plus.
    A spot 5 minutes up the channel towards the Ramp, but just out of the Channel there were good sized Grunter and Bream, and we lost a couple of Jacks. All these caught on Fresh Mullet strip.
    Some good Nipper banks up that way too so take a pump if you have one. There were quite a few Whiting being caught there too by other people.
    Worth a try for some Muddies there too, just watch your pots as it's a prime piece of real estate for sharefarming scum.
    See how you go.