Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Demetic Chescold 3 way advice

Demetic Chescold 3 way advice

Just got back form a weekend away celebrating my 40th where my darling wife surprised me with a Chescold Demetic 3 way fridge. I am completely new to 3 way fridges and want to know if they are any good and the best way to operate them. It is the rc111something model, has a divider that can be removed. She accidently left the price tag on it and i am hoping that it is up near the top end range
    JN

Re: Demetic Chescold 3 way advice

In my opinion they are a top fridge. Did have a problem with the first one I had, but turned out to be a transport damage issue & not an inherrant problem. Fridge has been operated sitting on the back of the ute, full sun , middle of summer & still kept food frozen. Only thing I would like to see changed is the latches.

Cheers Andrew

Had the same one for many years and travelled around oz for 6 months with it going 24/7. Mainly on gas but sometimes electricity. Worked well for our purpose. Not so good now on gas but apparently they get a soot type build up after a while and need a service. Will look ate getting this done. Best if you can chill them down for a day before going away and avoid putting warm items into them to get cold. Not as good as a compressor fridge IMO but do suit a specific purpose.

Thanks boys,
    It will mainly be used on gas and the wife told the salesman this so he said that the chescold is the one but to make absolutley sure it is level while in operation. The look of the lid clips does worry me a little.......Can anyone explain to me why the lid comes on and off.......Is this so there is no hinges to break ????
    JN

No idea why they come off. Maybe for cleaning??? Yeah those clips can do damage. Have scratched my leg up a few times when the kids don't clip them back down and you walk into them. Happy birthday by the way.