Thread: canvas tent

Re: canvas tent

I wouldn't be able to borrow a tent mate ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bull View Post
    I wouldn't be able to borrow a tent mate ?
    Don't know mate. Think I might be using it that weekend!

Hi Ben,

We have a french canvas tent that is indestructible!

One time when we were camping at Brooms Head NSW a southerly buster came in and several of the family dome tents around us collapsed and everyone got drenched and went home (and probs gave up camping I'd reckon) but we stood strong.

It has 2 inner rooms and one outer room and we have a custom tarp set-up we put over her for extra insurance and when we stay longer at camp sites and want an awning and good protection from sun and rain.DSC04557.jpgDSC04563.jpgDSC04571.jpgDSC04619.jpgDSC01654.jpgDSC01656.jpg

She is up for sale as the kids are all grown up now and our needs have changed so PM me if you are interested,

Mal

Aaaah! The old Andre Jamet tent. They are like a friggin house and take just as long to put up!
    Our family had one when I was a young grasshopper. Great memories of camping with that tent!
    Leigh (Kero).

thanks for the info peps

I dedcided to get this one http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Drifters-C...abin-Tent.html, it is a bit cheaper and lighter but for $500 i'll give it a run.

I will also invest the money saved into a better gound sheet and tarp over set up. If it's crap I guess I would have learnt a lesson on buying cheap..

Actually not quite that long but yes they are slower than modern ones. Once you know what you are doing they can be erected inside of 1 hour and they are like a brick outhouse!

Quote Originally Posted by ben_460 View Post
    thanks for the info peps

I dedcided to get this one http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Drifters-C...abin-Tent.html, it is a bit cheaper and lighter but for $500 i'll give it a run.

I will also invest the money saved into a better gound sheet and tarp over set up. If it's crap I guess I would have learnt a lesson on buying cheap..

congratulations on your new mobile home

all the fun you'll have as a family will be worth it many times over, just give yourself a few extra minutes to pitch the home and the quarrels will be kept at bay, practice at home a few times before doing it in some strange place with everybody watching you (although thats always fun for everyone else ). colour coding the poles with coloured tape or paint can be handy but its not rocket science so all should be well

enjoy!

chippy

Quote Originally Posted by ben_460 View Post
    thanks for the info peps

Nice cabin tent. Me an the wife put ours up,including the canopy in around 15 minutes and they stay up when the dome tents start buckling in the breeze. Put it up in the back yard and give it a couple of good soakings with the hose,to season the canvas and always pack the tent away dry. Should last for years if you look after it. Cheers Phil.

We recently traded up from our old Anaconda branded tent.

Purchased an Oztent RV5 with peak side panels, front door, undertent mat and fly, all on the 25% off BCF sale.

We recently went on a camping trip with people that an an Oztent RV4 and the Blackwolf Turbo 240 (Canvas). Both tents are fantastic and you cant go wrong. The main difference is the sleeping area is larger in the Blackwolf but the Awning area is larger in the Oztent. We preferred the awning being larger.

After all our research it really did come woth to Oztent and Blackwolf for a decent quick setup canvas tent.

Only negatives are packed size (oztent), weight of canvas, oh and price lol.

PS Dont buy from BCF under normal prices. They are 15% more expensive then tentworld/downunder camping/other specialised stores.

For those longer trips away this is ideal....why go home??

http://www.wimp.com/concretetents/

Hey goat boy, can you please repost the pic it seems to be broken and really would like to see as I'm keen on investing in a good tarp setup but I am not sure exactly what I'm looking for?

Quote Originally Posted by goat boy View Post
    Invest in some good tarps, poles and guy ropes. This will make your life so much more comfortable in the long run and while may seem cumbersome to put up at first, will just get easier and quicker with time/practice. You may not even need to get rid of the current tents. The tarps over the top will not only help with the rain, but with the overall stability, you can even add them as side walls and such for win/rain breaks or just shade during the day. Here is a setup I used for years when I lived on the east coast, I quite often went by myself too if nobody else was available, and could set it all up by myself, in a short time no worries. That tent is an oztrail cheapy and I have had it for years, still going strong. The Oztrail cheapy I had before that for years as well and I only got rid of it cos the damn thing was too big.
    Attachment 95565
    Can you post or pm the pic of your tarp setup again please mate? The one related to this post is broken.