Thread: Boaties Market Victoria Point this Sunday

Ausfish Platinum Member - R.I.P. October 2015 dayoo's Avatar

Boaties Market Victoria Point this Sunday

Just a reminder that the Victoria Point Boaties Market is on this coming Sunday in the grounds of the Victoria Point State School from 6am.

Plenty of boating and fishing bargains to be had.

See you there.

Barry

http://www.vmr.org.au/boaties-market.html

Volunteer Marine Rescue Victoria Point is holding it’s Boaties Market at the Victoria Point State School grounds in Colburn Avenue. The gates open for site holders and buyers at 6:00 am.

The Commodore of the Rescue Unit said that the market had now become a well known event and continued to increase in popularity each time. He said that the unit now hads a reputation for efficiency in the setting up of the stalls whilst the School always operated a great sausage sizzle with drinks also being available.

He added that entry for buyers was by means of a donation with the proceeds going towards operating and maintaining the rescue vessels, looking after the building, it’s vehicles and safety equipment. Site holders pay a token $10 per site with there being no restrictions on the size required and no need to book ahead. We are always pleased to donate a percentage of our takings to the School’s P & C Association for their generosity in making the grounds available for the market he said and the interest shown in this year’s market is well in excess of the previous ones.

Our theme he said continues to be anything “from a fish hook to a power cruiser!” and it is rare that a site holder does not dispose of most or all of items for sale.

Come along and support our well attended, big, successful fundraiser for your local community Marine Rescue Volunteers. You might just find that bargain you have been looking for!

• Gates open 6AM to 12 midday
    • Site Fee - $10.00
    • Admission - By donation
    • Enquiries to the Base- (07) 3207 8717 or email

Additional information added by Moderator.
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 18-04-2013 at 07:30 PM.

Re: Boaties Market Victoria Point this Sunday

Me and the boy will be there again. Has become a father son outing.

I'll be there selling of some bits and pieces.
    Barry please put aside 10 of each 2 & 3 oz glow bean sinkers for me, last time you had sold out before I had time to see you.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

PS. who else is going...........
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    Barry please put aside 10 of each 2 & 3 oz glow bean sinkers for me, last time you had sold out before I had time to see you.
    That's because Tangles must have got there before you did. Haven't you seen him in action? He's like a whirling dervish.

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    No worries will powder coat them tomorrow morning and two pack them tomorrow arvo.
    Only do these sizes upon request as they eat up the powder paint.

Barry

hey bazz did ya put my 1 and 1.5 ounce glow egg sinkers aside mate...15 /1 ounce and 10/1.5 ounce
    cheers rosco

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    hey bazz did ya put my 1 and 1.5 ounce glow egg sinkers aside mate...15 /1 ounce and 10/1.5 ounce
    cheers rosco
    There in a special bag in the glove box of my car.

Barry

we will be there with two sites.
    cheers Jim

Do not forget it is today.
    Ray

Just got home from the boaties market. Bad idea not to let the sellers in until 6am as the queue stretched nearly back to the highway. Buyers were let in at the same time with many sellers stuck out on the road trying to get in. Police were not amused.

Sold out of 1/8,1/4 and 3/8oz jigheads. Had to get an armored security van to escort me home with all the cash

Barry

Barry,
    Not sure of your post as the actual number of sellers was the same as most markets, so if the queue's were out to the highway then it was buyers.
    You will find that buyers were let in at the old entrance early (about 15 mins) and were actually waiting for sellers to arrive.
    At the main entrance buyers and sellers were let in a 6.00am.
    Glad you had a good day.
    Historian/Collector of Old Sidecast Fishing Reels

sellers were lined up half way down colburn avenue. buyers were not in that queue as they did not need to park inside the school. i can confirm that as i was at the back of the queue at 5.30am and didn't get in until after 6.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by Da-Jew-Man View Post
    Barry,
    Not sure of your post as the actual number of sellers was the same as most markets, so if the queue's were out to the highway then it was buyers.
    You will find that buyers were let in at the old entrance early (about 15 mins) and were actually waiting for sellers to arrive.
    At the main entrance buyers and sellers were let in a 6.00am.
    Glad you had a good day.
    Dave,
    The sellers are usually let in before the buyers so that they can set up their stall before the buyers arrive. Took me half hour in the queue to get in with many buyers waiting inside.

Barry

Hi Barry.
    See your point.
    However the Boaties right from the beginning has always let buyer and sellers in at the same time. In the beginning at 5 am and now 6am.
    There has been even bigger markets and no problems.
    I noticed that in Colburn Ave their has been changes to the road ie marking which may back up the line causing longer entry times.
    Sounds like you still had a good day anyway.
    Historian/Collector of Old Sidecast Fishing Reels