Thread: Help with Marlin??

Help with Marlin??

Trolled for 6 hours on Saturday north of sea way to pin and back in 30 odd meters of water. Trolled at 12 knots with two skirts out for 1 tuna.
    Can anyone give me some advice on trolling for Marlin to help imrove the odds?
    What time of day and speeds seem to be working best?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Help with Marlin??

Im no expert mate and others may be different but I would think 12knots to be a bit quick. Maybe 6-8knots.

yeah i agree
    im no expert at all, only got first couple this month, but all the advice i recieved was 6-7 knots.
    look for birds/bait too

We have been trolling at 7 knots for marlin

Sorry. I meant 6 knots. 12 km/hr.
    Thanks for pointing that out.

As you could imagine there are alot of things to take into consideration.Pakulas site is a good start.
    7knots is the preferred speed for trolling skirted lures unless your targeting wahoo with steel jet heads where you would troll at greater speeds.
    One mistake i made in my ear lie years of trolling was i would troll from one spot(port)to another,now i just get where i need to be or close to it and then locate bait or birds until i mark some bait or see bill fish on my sounder then just stay there.Alot of people make the mistake of driving away from strikes or fish because nothing is happening.
    If you know your in the right area stay there,if it gets a bit boring cruise a little further north or east in search of some bait or birds but don't wonder to far away.Tide changes this year have been some awesome bite periods,as for spots you have to have something that will hold the bait or a river outlet like the pin bar.Reef also holds bait or rocks hanging out the water,current ripping around point lookout things like that.Heavy tackle blues can be a little different as they are so far out where all you have are sea mounts or an increase or decrease in depth as well as warmer water etc.