Thread: Need a combo to fill in the gaps, Help me buy myself a xmas pressie!

Need a combo to fill in the gaps, Help me buy myself a xmas pressie!

Hey all,
    I mainly go for bream, whiting and flathead but recently have been chasing inshore snapper. I use lures so want something nice and balanced so my little arms dont get sore
    So far I have:
    2500 Saraha + 1-3kg Dropshot
    2500 Sienna + shimano sonic pro, 1-3kg
    4500 Saraha + 5-8kg shimano (don't know what it is, rods are in storage atm)

So basically I can spend $220 on a chrissy present from the wife on gear. Looking to get a rod and reel to fill in the gaps.
    I want something that I can troll for bream but still target small reef fish (squire).

I like fishing light but don't know which way to go.

Should I buy a little 1000fd and really light bream rod for more finesse (I have a kayak so target bream more)
    Or should I go for another better quality 2500 reel and just use it on a current rod. to use for both bream and squire.

Really not sure which way to go but I rarely get the chance to buy more gear so I'm taking this one and running with it.

Any help would be great,
    Cheers. Todd.

Re: Need a combo to fill in the gaps, Help me buy myself a xmas pressie!

I would be looking at 3-5kg Pflueger Trion and mating that with a 2500 Symetre or similar. You might get lucky and score it for the 220 mark maybe. Generally it will be around 240-260 mark.

I would import a Stradic 3000 at $155 delivered and chuck it on a Pflueger Trion 2-4kg or a STP LightSpin 2-4kg as an inshore Snapper stick

Gee

How about a Live fibre--blade and tails and team it up with a Penn Slammer.

Mrs H

Thanks guys, got a few ideas.
    Any others?

TLD 25 and 15-24kg stick. Those bream can get pretty nasty.

Stradic 3000 and pfluger 3-6kg rod. That is my go to setup.

Yeah mossy that's what I'm steering towards but maybe a 2-4kg rod.

The Lump - Would size braid do you recommend? 100lb? Don't want them to snap me off

Thanks guys, atleast now I know what to go shopping for.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    I would import a Stradic 3000 at $155 delivered and chuck it on a Pflueger Trion 2-4kg or a STP LightSpin 2-4kg as an inshore Snapper stick
    Yes I agree something like that, 3000 Stradic sturdy for snapper.

Penn Slammer is overkill, those things are weapons.

But hey you could always throw a slammer on the 8kg, no light bream work there, the 2500 should cover yr light bream work, unless you get a 1000 for fineness bream fishing, which is just a pain in bum IMO, its got me buggered why people go finesse to catch fish that you can catch just as easily on a 5 dollar rod and a packet of servo prawns.