Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Virgin freshwater fisho needing help fishing somerset

Virgin freshwater fisho needing help fishing somerset

Hey Guys n gulls, Im new to fishing fresh water, and I'm looking at fishing in somerset dam, but went there yesterday at the spit and thought shit where do i start, i only have 10ft tinnie and 8 hp, and no idea of what tackle to use or where to use it.....if any one could point me in the right direction it would be great....
    cheers Chris
    may you get a bend in your rod and your esky open often

Re: Virgin freshwater fisho needing help fishing somerset

Hi Chris, my father fishes Somerset on a regular basis. Try putting your boat in at Kirkleigh (before the spit travelling from Kilcoy). If you have a sounder, all the better to find the main channel. Travel upstream from Kirkleigh, lots of timber that provides plenty of shelter for fish. My father only targets yellowbelly, with bass and cod (not often) as a by catch. He will use live bait such as yabbies or shrimps if he can get them. He also trolls amongst the timber using bladed "celta" spinners. Hope this helps and good luck!

Hi Chris,
    I have never fished Somerset before, but I have fished other freshwater dams.

As Bruce said, fish amongst heavily timbered areas or look for other structure areas like rocky outcrops in the water or fallen logs in the water. Work these areas hard by either trolling or casting deep diving lures about these areas. Be prepared to have some lures snag up on the trees and stuff, because if your lure isnt bouncing of the trees and rocks your not in the zone where the fish are hanging out. Get yourself a good tackle back too. It will save you a lot of money.

Also bottom bounce these areas with bait if you would rather bait fish.

I hope this helps.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.