Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: I bought this $380 USD reel on ebay and got seriously stoned

Unhappy I bought this $380 USD reel on ebay and got seriously stoned

Fair dinkum - ebay had this deep drop reel on auction - well the seller actually had four of them on four separate auctions and they sold for $380 to $460 - Daiwa Tanacom - two had sold 6 days prior to the one I was bidding on.

Anyway I was pleased to get mine cheapest of the four auctions and thought the seller did not have track record but said can pay with paypal - so figured I would have a go.

I won the auction but asked the seller about upgrading the reel handle as they offered this upgrade - I got no reply from seller but over the next four days I got plenty of reminders from ebay to hurry up and pay.

Finally I thought okay I pay with paypal. Seriously I paid at 5.05pm on Sunday for it and at 5.08pm ebay send me a notice that the item has been withdrawn don't pay for it etc etc.

I send a "dispute" into paypal and immediately take it up to a "claim".

Paypal ask the seller for a post tracking number and are given one which they forward to me - you can see the tracking number on this great little parcel

I tell paypal not to pay until parcel arrives and reel is verified.

Well after ten days it finally arrived and here is the reel - sweet hey!?

China Reel Forum.JPG

I think if you look real close it looks like a Chinaman laughing

Paypal are considering the case - hope they don't hurt their brains over this one.

Once this is all sorted - this "reel" is definitely going deep-sea fishing!

Trev

Re: I bought this $380 USD reel on ebay and got seriously stoned

Hmmmmmm yeah certainly not a reel. I thought from the title they had of sent something else in the post which some may of been pleased to receive also leaving one stoned.
    Paypal may need to phone a friend on that one.

Can we know the name of the seller, their location and their rating?

That rock has the face of Buddha in it, got to be worth a quid.

that'll make me think next time i buy a daiwa tanacom . mine turned up as a fishing reel

Nothing like finding a good dope to get stoned.

Not meaning you Trev, but I wonder how many times they've succeeded.

Quote Originally Posted by MudRiverDan View Post
    Can we know the name of the seller, their location and their rating?

That rock has the face of Buddha in it, got to be worth a quid.

It was not a store name and totally nondescript - rest assured Dan they will not appear as same name again. Ebay would have canned them - the name was like a numberplate.

Worth a quid you say - Mate $380 and it's all yours

Reckon it will find it's way into 450m of water

Trev

Is it heavy enough to turn into a sinker?

Quote Originally Posted by cobiaman View Post
    Is it heavy enough to turn into a sinker?
    You actually think it's useful??

What the heck - $380 and it's all yours!!

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by TREVELLY View Post
    It was not a store name and totally nondescript - rest assured Dan they will not appear as same name again. Ebay would have canned them - the name was like a numberplate.

Worth a quid you say - Mate $380 and it's all yours

Reckon it will find it's way into 450m of water
    You have to be careful, number plate names are definitely out.
    Least you will get your dollars back from Ebay or Paypal.

Seems Ebay is not as safe as they lead you to believe.

I hope the link I posted earlier is good, spent some dollars myself.

You actually think it's useful??

What the heck - $380 and it's all yours!!
    Just trying to think positive, never said it was usefull...

Okay you hard haggler - I have been to Bali and I know how this works - $370 and it's all yours!!

Trev

$3.70 and ill take it, including postage

You hard man - you hard man! - you drive tough bargain - ovvers pay $460 for same stone - I sell you $365 $365 - bottom price - I lose here you see just to make you happy!

Trev

Saw them on fleabay. I was suspicious because it was only listed with an auction lasting less than 2days. Also wanted fleabay only communication, not thru email. Did a google image search, and the images were ripped off a us sellers fleabay shop. So I reported them. Too bad u got stung.

TM

You hard man - you hard man! - you drive tough bargain - ovvers pay $460 for same stone - I sell you $365 $365 - bottom price - I lose here you see just to make you happy!
    You could certainly get a job selling stuff at the markets with that sales pitch...