Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: battle for wello pt lost, the WAR continues...

Re: battle for wello pt lost, the WAR continues...

the fact of the matter is that council has brought all of this trouble on themselves. they have been beautifying the point for the last decade which has had their desired effect of attracting tourists. unfortunately they have not provided the infrastructure for the number of people they are attracting (in much the same way that they open up residential land). even more unfortunate is councils answer to fixing the problems. surely all the brains in council can come up with something more original than taking more parks away from an already lacking trailer bay area?
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

for those interested, here are the minutes of tuesdays circus:

MINUTES
    city services
    COMMITTEE MEETING
    Tuesday, 4 September 2012

Council Chambers
    1st floor Administration Building
    Bloomfield Street Cleveland. Qld 4163

Table of Contents

Item Subject Page No

Declaration of Opening
    Record of Attendance and Leave of Absence
    Receipt and Confirmation Of Minutes
    Public Participation at Meeting
    MATERIAL PERSONAL INTEREST AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST
    Motion to alter the Order of Business
    1......... CITY SERVICES
    1.1 WELLINGTON POINT RESERVE PARKING ISSUES
    1.2 REDWASTE BUSINESS UNIT REPORT FOR APRIL TO JUNE 2012
    1.3 PETITION (DIVISION 2) REQUEST TO PROVIDE PEDESTRIAN PATH ALONG COBURG STREET EAST
    2......... closed session
    2.1 PROPOSAL TO ACQUIRE DEVELOPMENT APPROVALS TO CONSTRUCT THE PROPOSED BOAT RAMP AND CAR PARK ON MACLEAY ISLAND
    3.........GENERAL BUSINESS
    3.1RECOGNITION OF SERVICEMEN AND WOMEN
    4.........MEETING CLOSURE

Council, at its Post Election meeting on 17 May 2012, resolved as follows:
    5. That all committees be delegated formal decision making authority under section 257 Local Government Act 2009 where one or more of the following circumstances apply:
    a) A decision is required to be made to meet statutory timeframes.
    For example:
    i. Decide development applications under the Sustainable Planning Act 2009 and the Integrated Planning Act 1997; and
    ii. Provide instructions to legal counsel for appeal matters actioned under Chapter 6 of the Sustainable Planning Act 2009 and Chapter 4 of the Integrated Planning Act 1997.
    b) A decision is required to be made to meet other timeframes.
    For example:
    Closing dates for submissions.
    c) There is significant benefit that would justify making the decision.
    For example:
    Entering into a contract by a certain date would provide financial benefits.
    The delegation is made with the following provisos:
    i. That officers (report authors) must provide justification for the use of the delegation in the committee report and include this in the report recommendations; and
    ii. That for a standing committee to use delegated authority, there must be a minimum of eight Councillors in attendance at the meeting who vote in favour of the resolution.

Declaration of Opening
    Cr Boglary declared the meeting open at 9.01am.
    Record of Attendance and Leave of Absence
    Committee Membership:
    Cr W Boglary Chair and Councillor Division 1
    Cr K Williams Mayor
    Cr C Ogilvie Councillor Division 2 – left the meeting at 10.15am
    Cr K Hardman Councillor Division 3
    Cr L Hewlett Councillor Division 4
    Cr M Edwards Councillor Division 5
    Cr M J Talty Councillor Division 6
    Cr M Elliott Councillor Division 7 – left the meeting at 10.15am
    Cr A Beard Deputy Mayor and Councillor Division 8
    Cr P Gleeson Councillor Division 9
    Cr P Bishop Councillor Division 10

Committee Manager:
    Mrs L Rusan General Manager City Services

Officers:
    Mrs S Rankin Interim Chief Executive Officer
    Mrs T Averay General Manager Environment Planning & Development
    Mr M Erbs Manager City Infrastructure
    Mr R Walford Service Manager – RedWaste
    Mr R Powell Senior Advisor Infrastructure Projects
    Mr G Tyler Senior Advisor Infrastructure Projects

Minutes:
    Mrs J Parfitt Team Leader Corporate Meeting & Registers
    Receipt and Confirmation Of Minutes
    Moved by: Cr P Gleeson
    Seconded by: Cr J Talty
    That the minutes of the City Services Committee Meeting of 7 August 2012 be confirmed.
    Minutes August 7 2012 City Services
    CARRIED
    Public Participation at Meeting
    MOTION TO ADJOURN MEETING
    Moved by: Cr J Talty
    Seconded by: Cr M Edwards
    That Council adjourn the meeting for a 15 minute public participation segment.

CARRIED

· Mr T Berrill of Wellington Point, representing wind surfers and kite surfers, addressed Committee on Item 1.1 Wellington Point Reserve Parking Issues.
    · Mr D Anderson of Thorneside addressed Committee on Item 1.1 Wellington Point Reserve Parking Issues.

MOTION TO RESUME MEETING
    Moved by: Cr A Beard
    Seconded by: Cr P Bishop

That the meeting proceedings resume.

CARRIED
    MATERIAL PERSONAL INTEREST AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST
    Nil
    Motion to alter the Order of Business
    Moved by: Cr K Williams
    Seconded by: Cr C Ogilvie

That the order of business be altered to discuss Item 1.3 Wellington Point Reserve Parking Issues (as listed on the Agenda) as Item 1.1.

CARRIED

COUNCILLOR ABSENCES DURING MEETING
    Cr Williams left the meeting at 10.06am and returned at 10.09 am during discussion on Item 1.3.
    Cr Elliott left the meeting at10.15am at the conclusion of Item 1.3.
    Cr Ogilvie left the meeting at 10.15am at the conclusion of item 1.3.

1 CITY SERVICES
    1.1 WELLINGTON POINT RESERVE PARKING ISSUES
    Dataworks Filename: RTT: Complaints - Parking
    Attachments: Attachment 1: Wellington Point Reserve Amended Master Plan [PDF 178KB]
    Attachment 2: Presentation for Wellington Point Reserve Community Engagement Forum [PDF 2.1MB]

Responsible Officer: Murray Erbs
    Manager City Infrastructure

Author: Abdish Athwal
    Senior Engineer Traffic and Transport

Executive Summary

In 2010, Council redeveloped the car and trailer unit area of the reserve to the amended master plan for the Wellington Point Reserve adopted in 2006.
    Council has received numerous enquiries and complaints concerning parking bays designated for exclusive use by vehicles with boat trailers only.
    Community engagement forum was held with directly affected stakeholders to identify all relevant issues, concerns and constraints, and to establish the key outcomes for implementing acceptable improvements.
    Outcome from the community engagement forum and the officers recommendation is to retain status quo to parking apportionment (between normal and car trailer unit spaces), and enforcement be undertaken with an emphasis on weekends and Public Holidays
    Purpose
    Report to Council on the issues raised at the Community Engagement Forum of 10 July 2012 and request approval on the recommended option.
    Background
    On 28 June 2006, Council adopted an amended Master Plan for Wellington Point Reserve. The amended Master Plan was the result of community comments received on the May 2004 Council resolution to defer the 2004 draft of the Master Plan.
    The key features of the 2006 amended Master Plan included:
    · Reconfiguration of the trailer parking area to provide accessible foreshore green space around the reserve;
    · Access to existing boat ramps maintained;
    · Improved and safer pedestrian pathways to jetty and foreshore through car park.

In 2010, Council redeveloped the car and trailer unit area of the reserve to the 2006 amended Master Plan, as shown in Attachment 1.
    Since the 2010 redevelopment Council has received numerous enquiries and complaints concerning parking bays designated for exclusive use by vehicles with boat trailers only.
    Following internal stakeholder meetings it was decided that a community engagement forum should be held to identify all relevant issues, concerns and constraints being voiced by directly affected stakeholders, and to establish the key outcomes for implementing acceptable improvements.
    Stakeholders include representatives from directly affected organisations such as boating and fishing groups, local businesses and residents, Queensland Police Service, and a small number of individuals who have personally contacted Council on this issue.
    The community engagement forum was held on Tuesday 10July 2012 starting at 6:00pm to finish 8:00pm at the Redlands Cricket Club and received a good attendance. See attachment 2 for PowerPoint Presentation.
    Summary of available parking at the Wellington Point Reserve - See attachment 2, slide 7.
    Issues
    At the community engagement forum, invited stakeholders put forwarded the following issues/concerns (point being addressed and some stakeholder comments in italics):
    Ø Laws should be enforced
    o people parked illegally should be fined, if not things will get worse.

Ø Rules/guidelines for 10 percent CTU requirements
    o shortage of trailer parking as per the guidelines for boating ramps, shortage of parking in general
    o boat owners paying via boat registration for parking spot, car don’t pay.

Ø Public Transport options
    o more bus services needed

Ø Should CTU be shared on non-boating days
    o shared 11:00 am – 4:00pm parking on non-boating days.

Ø Commercial business use
    o boat industry employee 14,000 people.
    o 10,974 power boats registered, that’s 1 boat for every 6 houses, small boat and kayaks not registered
    o Council needs to control the situation or business will go elsewhere.

Ø Boating weather dependent
    o tides control boating, it should not be time control.

Ø Percentage of boat parking share after 12:00 noon
    o most boats go out in the morning – boat parking areas should be used for cars in the afternoon.
    o windsurfers, kayaks have no problems in the afternoons.

Ø Council management of weather condition
    o boat area parking controlled under the instruction of parking warden/council offers.

Ø Share after 1:00pm
    o if boat spot not used after 1:00pm allow car to park.
    Ø Signage needs to be clear
    o need clear signage, council allows car to park in boats area one weekend and when booked the next weekend owners say that Council has allowed the parking, leaves enforcement not knowing what to do.
    o Council offer to manage the signage on weekend.
    o need Council to enforce signage.

Ø Influence of tides
    o boating is tide dependant not time. If boat spot not used after 1:00pm allow car to park.

Ø Large number of boat users
    o large number of boat, kayaks, windsurfers use boat area.
    o boat owners paying via boat registration for parking spot, car don’t pay.
    o car and trailer having to park up the hill on Main Road with boat waiting for trailer to get picked, not suitable.

Ø No to bureaucracy
    o Council does not use this as revenue raising.

Ø Support control situation
    o Everyone obey the law and enforcement is required.

Ø Retain history as family venue
    o Place for family enjoyment as well as boating, need to share the reserve.
    o People come for cheap swim, BBQ etc - fines will drive people away.

Ø Adequate signage after 11:00am
    o not enough parking on holidays leads to dual parking behaviours.
    o shared 11:00 am – 4:00pm parking on non-boating days.
    o parking in Reserve Esp for cars only.

Ø Safety issue (pedestrian)
    o Need to improve pedestrian crossing point in the ramp and jetty areas car with trailer cannot see pedestrians.

Ø Visitor friendly image
    o need to look for more activity spaces in the surrounding areas.

Proposed options put forward at the forum:
    Ø Warden to control parking - cost, common sense, safety
    Ø Trial for shared CTU parking area 12- 10:30pm – does not align with weather/tides.
    Ø Penalty enforcement - need to be consistent
    Ø Public Transport -Translink does not have the required demand
    Ø Greater utilisation green area - overflow parking on grass
    Ø Differing time limits - 2H,4H,6H and enforcement
    Ø Sun/Public Holidays - increase enforcement
    Ø Must be legal – clear signage and enforcement
    Ø Increase attractiveness of other areas – additional boating area and would reduce over usage of Wellington Point Reserve
    Ø Rent vacant block – for additional parking

In summary from the forum it was apparent that a solution that satisfied all stakeholders was not achievable, since:
    § There is clearly insufficient parking at the reserve to meet the current demand of all stakeholders
    § The recreational and local business stakeholders want more car parking, and/or the ability to share some of the trailer parking areas when they are not being used after a designated time, for example after 12:00 pm.
    § The boating stakeholders want more trailer parking, at least the allocation for the two ramps.
    In concluding the meeting the following key outcomes were sounded to the stakeholders who had no objections:
    v Everyone obey the law – enforcement
    v Status quo to current parking and enforcement. - Must be legal, clear and enforceable signage

The Guidelines for Provision of Recreational Boating Facilities 1996 recommends the minimum of 90 CTU parking spaces for a 4 lane boat ramp and 45 CTU parking spaces for a 2 lane boat ramp. Therefore a minimum of 135 CTU parking spaces is recommended for the two boating ramps at the reserve. Currently there are 75 CTU parking spaces.
    It is therefore recommended that status quo to current parking with enforcement be proposed for Council approval.
    Relationship to Corporate Plan
    5. Wise planning and design
    We will carefully manage population pressures and use land sustainably while advocating and taking steps to determine limits of growth and carrying capacity on a local and national basis, recognising environmental sensitivities and the distinctive character, heritage and atmosphere of local communities. A well-planned network of urban, rural and bushland areas and responsive infrastructure and transport systems will support strong, healthy communities.
    5.12 Plan, provide and advocate for essential physical and social infrastructure that supports community well-being and manage Council’s existing infrastructure assets to ensure current service standards are maintained or improved
    Financial Implications
    There are no financial implications impacting Council as a result of this report.
    Planning Scheme Implications
    It is considered that the outcome of recommendations in this report will not require any amendments to the Redlands Planning Scheme.
    Consultation
    Internal and external stake holders have been consulted.
    Options
    Preferred
    That Council resolve to retain the status quo to parking apportionment (between normal and car trailer unit spaces), and enforcement be undertaken with an emphasis on weekends and Public Holidays.
    Alternative
    Undertake a trial of shared parking along the first row adjacent to toilet block after 1:00pm.
    Officer’s Recommendation
    Moved by: Cr M Elliott
    Seconded by: Cr L Hewlett
    That Council resolve to retain the status quo to parking apportionment (between normal and car trailer unit spaces), and enforcement be undertaken with an emphasis on weekends and Public Holidays.
    LOST
    DIVISION
    FOR: Crs Elliott and Hewlett
    AGAINST: Crs Bishop, Gleeson, Beard, Talty, Edwards, Hardman, Ogilvie, Williams and Boglary
    COMMITTEE Recommendation
    Moved by: Cr K Williams
    Seconded by: Cr P Bishop
    That Council resolve to undertake a trial of shared parking (cars and cars with trailers) along the first row of car trailer unit parking adjacent to toilet block between 1:00pm and 10.00pm and review after 3 months.
    CARRIED
    DIVISION
    FOR: Crs Bishop, Gleeson, Beard, Talty, Edwards, Hardman, Ogilvie, Williams and Boglary
    AGAINST: Crs Elliott and Hewlett

Quote Originally Posted by Linedropper View Post
    How about passing the hat around to raise funds for painting the trailer bays yellow with a big boat symbol and big words on the asphalt? Also increased/better signage mentioning fines with the left over money.

The council can even select the contractor or do it themselves so it complies with the standards and whoever paints can be paid directly from the funds. Might be a bit of red tape involved but offer it up.

I'm in for 50 bucks and I don't even launch there but I might do one day. Let me know where to send the money.
    linedropper. we have considered just going down ourselves with a stencil and some paint but may find ourselves on the end of vandalism charges. the important thing to remember is that our actions must be legal. there should be no need for us to break any laws in our fight for justice.

down at the point at 12.15 today. looking like another busy day shaping up. another 20 odd fliers under wipers. looks like the general public cant wait for councils new "sharing" plan. the bays we are losing are almost all full. unfortunately the wind didn't conform to councils wishes today either as it was windy this morning and is forecast to be dropping out this afternoon. now here's a funny thing with the 11 lost bays. there is a kerb between bays number 12 and 13 so the 11 bays selected will have 1 unallocated bay left on the end before the kerb (marked with arrow). is this a trap for people or what? more pics later. i am going back down...

08092012 030.jpg 08092012 031.jpg

Great observation Davo

back at 1.15. no council officers. plenty of offenders. rang council and police. quick drink with a mate and back there at 2.30. still no parking policing happening and no fines on windows. left just before 3 after slipping a few more fliers under wipers and chatting with some boaties. will email todays pics to the bulletin.

geez nettie...those minutes..do those nitwits actually get paid for that crap. Tell ya what..I reckon I could have a day at the Wello ramp..I could break the law..wait for some gumbie to park in one of those bays then park the ute right up his clacker. I wonder how the car owner would enjoy me moving the ute at about midnight..does not worry me.

Lightbulb Re: battle for wello pt lost, the WAR continues...

jmo

Boaties have (to me) "now won acknowlegement" of absolute Boat/Trailer-parking ONLY in the NON-SHARED bays. [imo , do keep up the rage? BUT as per trial criteria]

[Maybe "Don't RISK being parked-IN" asphalt signage on each of the "Absolute Bays" is good warning info.]

Obviously ........ to provide MORE spots for ALL users , "they" need a bigger car/boat/trailer area.

Seems Boaties are already "Entitled to 135 places?" ,so "already owed" a further 60 or 70

To be fair ,single cars are "entitled" to be able to park also ,so a carpark ONLY section is also warranted.

jmo
    Enjoy your Fishing

Quote Originally Posted by Gazza View Post
    jmo

Boaties have (to me) "now won acknowlegement" of absolute Boat/Trailer-parking ONLY in the NON-SHARED bays. [imo , do keep up the rage? BUT as per trial criteria]

[Maybe "Don't RISK being parked-IN" asphalt signage on each of the "Absolute Bays" is good warning info.]

Obviously ........ to provide MORE spots for ALL users , "they" need a bigger car/boat/trailer area.

Seems Boaties are already "Entitled to 135 places?" ,so "already owed" a further 60 or 70

To be fair ,single cars are "entitled" to be able to park also ,so a carpark ONLY section is also warranted.

jmo
    Enjoy your Fishing

if it wasn't so annoying it would be hilarious. here we are first saturday after the meeting and there is 9 cars parked in our stolen 11 bays. these ignorant people cant even wait for council to legitimise it. like i said, wello pt boaties have had "shared" parking for a long time now - with the whole damn 75 of them.

an enebriated mate of mine last night came up with what i think is a great idea:

bbq at green or peel islands instead of the point and just leave our cars and empty trailers parked everywhere! we are fishos after all. why not all just go fishing from wello on a fine day and meet up for a bbq brunch and a chinwag? we can just go enjoy ourselves. i think that this would be a great way to protest and the sort of protest that more boaties will turn up for as well as being non-confrontational and still absolutely drawing attention to the overall lack of parking.

soooo. lets have some comments...

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    geez nettie...those minutes..do those nitwits actually get paid for that crap. Tell ya what..I reckon I could have a day at the Wello ramp..I could break the law..wait for some gumbie to park in one of those bays then park the ute right up his clacker. I wonder how the car owner would enjoy me moving the ute at about midnight..does not worry me.
    pinnie. if you are prepared to bring your ute all this way and take up a space mate, you are welcome to deckie for me if you like. and yes, i can pull the anchor etc etc.

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    pinnie. if you are prepared to bring your ute all this way and take up a space mate, you are welcome to deckie for me if you like. and yes, i can pull the anchor etc etc.
    no no no no nettie..I don't wanna go fishing. I would prefer to relive memories of the area when i was a kid..fishing club Xmas do's under the moreton bay fig and just watch some dope try and work out what to do with my ute parked right behind him. The laughs would be great..touch the ute and a rapid response would be forthcoming then back under the tree. Ahhh..it is fun being a GOM..I love it.

We have never met mate, but fxxk you crack me up, your old school antics are priceless....
    And I will sit with you and watch...
    By the way ol'mate, I grew up in Coogee, N.S.W., My Brother played for Souths Juniors, The very 1st team I supported was the Rabbitto's, back in the day.

Cheers BINGO (Dave)

Davo.

Do you have any friends that aren't inebriated..
    Mate probably not the forum to post a comment like that, as you are being monitored and you may find you have a couple of Black four wheel drives,with heavily tinted windows parked outside your house from now on and know doubt they will be noting number plates..

As for the suggested Island BBQ, I'm in for that, if around when it is organized.
    However I will also put myself up to be the one to stay at Wello for the duration and watch the cars and trailers, as I think this may be needed..

BINGO (Dave)

Quote Originally Posted by Gazza View Post
    jmo

Boaties have (to me) "now won acknowlegement" of absolute Boat/Trailer-parking ONLY in the NON-SHARED bays.

this is something that the law already is supposed to afford us. why should we be required to accept a further reduction in our parking to have council do the job that they are supposed to be doing already? and i do not believe that any concession we make will ensure councils diligence on policing. for some reason i no longer trust them...

and another suggestion: the 11 bays in front of the toilet block should be the first 11 bays that boaties take up each weekend. if you are putting in there, please take up 1 of these bays.