Thread: Wooli and Minnie Water

Wooli and Minnie Water

Folks, I am looking to get some starter GPS marks for Wooli and Minnie water offshore area . I will be spending nine days down there in a week or so and if the weather gods play the game I will slip out and chase some snapper on plastics.

After checking the usual fishing tackle and boating stores here in Brisbane I cannot lay my hands on a single book or chart for the area. No doubt the area around the solitary islands (outside the green zone ) would be a good place to start it would be great to have some others.

I am happy to trade some intel on many areas (primarily bay and rivers/creeks) between the gold and sunshine coasts if that helps.

regards Garry

Re: Wooli and Minnie Water

Gaz I dont have any marks down there as last time I had a different plotter but if you go straight out of the bar to the breaking Bommie (maybe 2kms) and head north you will find a heap of reef thats goes from around 20m and comes up to as shallow as 10m. Have caught good snapper off here and believe it or not more than a few good pearlies. I think the locals call it home ground.

Macca, thanks for the info , looks nice and close.

G'day mate.

These marks are public domain and straight out of the NSW Hooked in Paradise and I have never used them so don't be surprised if they aren't great or there are plenty of blokes out there but eh beggars can't be choosers...

South East
    29.57.215 153.22.700 - Trag Grounds
    29.55.900 153.23.585 - North Solitary
    29.54.230 153.18.960 - The Spot
    29.49.900 153.18.845 - Wilsons Break
    29.34.030 153.23.335 - Redcliff

I know Redcliff is famous for mega Jewfish and North Solitary is usually good for Snapper, Pearlies, Trag and Kingfish and actually that is the one place I fished out of all of these with a charter and one bloke pulled in what would have been a 100lb Black Cod (Saddletail Groper).

Good luck. Let me know how it goes please?

MacDougall, thanks for the marks and that was the bloody book I was looking for ( or something similar anyway ) , no doubt these are starter marks but they will do, thanks heaps for taking the time to transcribe

cheers Garry

Gee, I've got a book or two of marks too.

Try these;

1. Different mark for Trag ground 29.57.201 153.22.700 - Trag and mixed bottom fish.
    2. Drift Area 29.55.400 153.19.000 - Scattered Reef litters this area and a wide variety of bottom fish can be encountered.
    3. Jeffrey's Rock 29.46.495 153.26.506 Snapper, kingfish and samson fish.
    4. Sonar Gap Wide 29.44.915 153.28.173 - Snapper and Pearl Pearch
    5. Sonar Gap 29.44.907 153.27.617 - Snapper and Trag.
    6. Bottom Toovey 29.44.681 153.29.885 - Mixed bottom fish
    7. Anchor 29.44.572 153.29.885 - Morwong and Snapper
    8. Top of the Bong 29.43.648 153.30.709

1. = SW of Nth Solitary Island.
    2. = SE of Wooli Bar - on route towards Trag Ground.
    3,4,5,6, 7&8 = Starting about 12 km NNE of Minnie water, then spread out about 8km along roughly NE line from Jefferys Rock to Top of the Bong.

In Closer to Sandon (more sheltered in Westerlies - which we are getting a lot of at the moment down this way);

Sandon Shoal 29.42.410 153.20.850 - Scattered reef area where seas can break in heavy weather. Wide variety of reef and sport fish.
    Shoals (inside) 29.42.351 153.21.068 - Bream, Trevally and Snapper
    Pryours Drift 29.42.036 153.21.757 - Flathead and Morwong
    Bottom Head 29.42.204 153.20.568 Mixed reef fish
    Pinnacle 29.41.979 153.23.793 Kingfish and Mulloway
    Middle Ground 29.41.492 153.20.630 - Snapper, pearl pearch and trag.
    Dr Beards (south) 29.41.383 153.22.251
    Dr Beards (wide) 29.40.870 153.22.507
    Sandon 29.40.797 153.28.261 - Kingfish, bonito and mackeral
    Bread and Butter 29.40.158 153.21.382 - Snapper and morwong

From Fishing Guide to Central and Nth Coast NSW

Check Sanctuary Zones - book is printed 2004!!!!

Also,

Due East of Minnie - Reef rising to 15 m 29.46.523 153.21.618

ESE of Minne - reef rising to 20 m (just outside of sanctuary zone) 29.47.712 153.22.610

Marks North of Northwest Rock 29.53.774 153.23.696 29.54.431 153.22.996

Reef just off Wooli 29.52.883 153.17.471

All marks have been double checked (read them out to my wife who checked for mistakes).

Please check all marks against sanctuary zones in Solitary Islands Marine Park.

Fair weather, tight lines and have fun,

Check this Gaz, best get movin'. Good luck mate!
    https://www.facebook.com/?sk=welcome...F/323356488824
    MD's big barrie taken at Nth. Sol.

Awesome Jim and thanks nigelr , that should be heaps to get me going. Ausfish goes good ! off tomorrow morn for 9 days , forecast looking alright

cheers Garry

Quote Originally Posted by gaz066 View Post
    Awesome Jim and thanks nigelr , that should be heaps to get me going. Ausfish goes good ! off tomorrow morn for 9 days , forecast looking alright

cheers Garry
    have fun

live bait ground out near North Solitary Island S29 54.414 E153 20.252

let us know if there are any Slimies there as JTPython wants me to bring a few up for him to Yeppoon

cheers Murf

one important point about these lat/longs is nobody has sain what chart datum they are in .
    wgs 84 . aust 84 the list goes on?
    it makes a big difference finding something

Quote Originally Posted by Boat Hog View Post
    Gee, I've got a book or two of marks too.

Try these;

1. Different mark for Trag ground 29.57.201 153.22.700 - Trag and mixed bottom fish.
    2. Drift Area 29.55.400 153.19.000 - Scattered Reef litters this area and a wide variety of bottom fish can be encountered.
    3. Jeffrey's Rock 29.46.495 153.26.506 Snapper, kingfish and samson fish.
    4. Sonar Gap Wide 29.44.915 153.28.173 - Snapper and Pearl Pearch
    5. Sonar Gap 29.44.907 153.27.617 - Snapper and Trag.
    6. Bottom Toovey 29.44.681 153.29.885 - Mixed bottom fish
    7. Anchor 29.44.572 153.29.885 - Morwong and Snapper
    8. Top of the Bong 29.43.648 153.30.709

1. = SW of Nth Solitary Island.
    2. = SE of Wooli Bar - on route towards Trag Ground.
    3,4,5,6, 7&8 = Starting about 12 km NNE of Minnie water, then spread out about 8km along roughly NE line from Jefferys Rock to Top of the Bong.

In Closer to Sandon (more sheltered in Westerlies - which we are getting a lot of at the moment down this way);

Sandon Shoal 29.42.410 153.20.850 - Scattered reef area where seas can break in heavy weather. Wide variety of reef and sport fish.
    Shoals (inside) 29.42.351 153.21.068 - Bream, Trevally and Snapper
    Pryours Drift 29.42.036 153.21.757 - Flathead and Morwong
    Bottom Head 29.42.204 153.20.568 Mixed reef fish
    Pinnacle 29.41.979 153.23.793 Kingfish and Mulloway
    Middle Ground 29.41.492 153.20.630 - Snapper, pearl pearch and trag.
    Dr Beards (south) 29.41.383 153.22.251
    Dr Beards (wide) 29.40.870 153.22.507
    Sandon 29.40.797 153.28.261 - Kingfish, bonito and mackeral
    Bread and Butter 29.40.158 153.21.382 - Snapper and morwong

From Fishing Guide to Central and Nth Coast NSW

Check Sanctuary Zones - book is printed 2004!!!!

Also,

Due East of Minnie - Reef rising to 15 m 29.46.523 153.21.618

ESE of Minne - reef rising to 20 m (just outside of sanctuary zone) 29.47.712 153.22.610

Marks North of Northwest Rock 29.53.774 153.23.696 29.54.431 153.22.996

Reef just off Wooli 29.52.883 153.17.471

All marks have been double checked (read them out to my wife who checked for mistakes).

Please check all marks against sanctuary zones in Solitary Islands Marine Park.

Fair weather, tight lines and have fun,

could only get those place names from pro marks

oh and there is very little on the bottom at the bait ground but a bit of a sound around to find the schools of Slimies and drop on the schools will provide

cheers Murf