Thread: Ideal Barra Lure Rods to Fit These Baitcasting Reels

Ideal Barra Lure Rods to Fit These Baitcasting Reels

OK.

I like the IMX and GLX Loomis rods, but I am seeking your ideas on the most suited rods to compliment these reels:

Shimano Calcutta CTE100DC (Gear ratio of 5.8:1, 8.6oz)
    http://shimano.fishing-store.us/shim...e-dc-reel.html
    Application - crank bait lure fishing and longer casting

Shimano Core 50MG7 (Gear ratio 7.0:1, 5.5oz)
    http://shimano.fishing-store.us/shim...ing-reels.html
    Application - shallower waters and shorter casting

Thoughts??

Splash

Re: Ideal Barra Lure Rods to Fit These Baitcasting Reels

Not very big reels for barra, chasing smaller ones? I've used a 150 on pond donkies before, but it was not unusual to have to back down on a fish. Be a certainty on a big fish with those reels.
    Look for something around 4-7 or 4-8kg. 7 foot for the longer casting one, 6 foot for the other, lets you get in around the trees etc easier with the shorter rod.

At least you'll have the most thoroughly researched rig and gear on the water up there Splash.

interesting...

thanks.

Do others agree that these reels are too small for the barra in NT?

Splash

Quote Originally Posted by Splash View Post
    interesting...

thanks.

Do others agree that these reels are too small for the barra in NT?

Splash
    If you want to do any trolling with them ..... yes
    If you are casting using a quality (thin braid) of 20lb ...... then they are fine
    Personally I would go up a size

thanks Chris.

No trolling will be done with these reels as I have other ones for that application.

These reels will soley be used for casting barra lures .

SPlash

Both will be fine........Calcutta would be my choice.

You could buy something cheaper until you get the hang of it.

What reel do you have set aside for trolling duty?.........

With the 60 on the back maybe a Tiagra 50W...?

The vast majority of the fish you may encounter while casting will be under 90cm and either of these reels will handle those fish without to much fuss...........your not trolling Awonga for 60lb donkeys.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Thanks Dan.

I will be using my ipilot MK 80lb for trolling instead of my outboard.

Choice of existing trolling reels - Daiwa Saltiga Z30, Daiwa Saltist 30TH or ABU 7000.

Why your choice of Calcutta over the Core?

Splash

Just gone off the low profile reels mate.....i have a stash of curados...all models and chronarchs......prefer the round style nowadays a bit more robust and they sit in my hand better really......also the Calcutta's i use are the DC version and not for the DC side of things but the 10 bearings make them really smooth and solid,i would have bought conquest non DC....i have the 300 jap version which although a big reel is really nice to cast with.

The other reels you have are far more at home as a bluewater mackeral type outfit and are total overkill for any barra.....proberbly bought them when in Gove hey mate?

A Calcutta 250 or 200 would do both for you......cast and troll that is.

The Minn Kota will have it's work cut out for a days trolling........see how that go's.

Thanks Dan.

Yeah those reels were left over form Gove and the Macs... :-) I thought they may be overkill for myh current ventures... :-)

Yeah those calcuttas look pretty damn solid.

On the trolling - how much trolling do you normally do - as opposed to casting on any given session (on average)?

What size conquest would you have bought?

Splash

Well i proberbly do around 70/30 and prefer to troll.......casting is generally for run off times not to say the fish can't be caught casting year round.Freshwater dry season billabongs is a casters paradise....togas tarpon etc,trolling small lures like bombers and spearheads is very productive in yellowater and alike.......you don't need light game reels trolling there mate fish on average are only 65-70cm.

it really depends on where you are ofcourse.....say mouth of the south at Brooke you will be trolling for big girls on the colour change 100 meters from the bank.......big fish but in open water.....200 curado's knock em over easy.......up the creek heaps of snags well up the gun a little and run 3-4kg of steady drag say the calcutta 250 will be the answer.........sometimes you just get done and thats why it's addictive!.....you just never ever know what could happen.

Te250 is a great allrounder IMO.

thanks Dan,

THose conquests look magic!

SPlash