Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where's the tailor, salmon and leatherjackts at

Where's the tailor, salmon and leatherjackts at

G'day Stonecold, Muzz, Murf and others.

Have you noticed any Tailor, Salmon and leatherjackets turning up in Ballina or North of Ballina?

Bondy

Re: Where's the tailor, salmon and leatherjackts at

Few tailor kicking around the place mate but havn't seen a salmon yet thank god..then again its been 4 days since I checked. I'll let you know when they turn up mate

Stonecold,

Thanks for letting me know mate. Send me a pm when tailor are in.

Bondy

Tailor are floating around. You've got a hell of a wait for the jackets to show though. Salmon are only a matter of time, a month or 2 should see them rooting everything up.

I was at iluka on the long weekend, no tailor there atm..

Thanks mattooty and alleycat,

I'll keep my eye out too. I reckon middle June for Gold Coast.

Dont worry Peter,

as soon as the scourge of the ocean arrives, you will be my first phone-call,

have to get you an esky full of the tasty buggers ASAP

Funny you say, I got my biggest tailor over weekend on Monday morning at 6.2kg at home (Yamba area) and got about 8 or 9 smaller fish in the .5-1.5kg bracket all on stickbaits off the headlands. It would be safe to assume that there'd be some big greenbacks gracing the bluff and woody head.
    How were you fishing?

Onerabbit

No problems, I've got a large esky for these critters.

Mattooty, that's a nice tailor 6.2kg, sounds like a very good greenback, arm puller.

I'll be fishing from the beach using 4x4/0 hooks with either whole pillies (salted down) or stripped bonito (salted down). I have metal sliders and spinners but have not used these since I purchased them. Might try rocky headlands near Evans Head later.

Bondy

Choppers were one a throw and Ballina off black head this morning. Not big fish a kg would pull em up.

great fish mattooty!

Stonecold,
    Awesome to hear, I'll be down that way soon, going to be cold mornings and very cold nights.

Bondy

Stonecold,

Whereabouts is Black Head. in Ballina?...I tried using google Earth but nothing showed up.

Bondy

Matt , thats a huge Tailor mate , you gotta be happy with that

Be great to see a pick of the beast

Cheers Mick

That's a pretty standard size for the big schools of tailor that roam through some of those spots. They come in 2 sizes....tiny or extra large. All the school sized fish tend to congregate in schools along the beaches. Will whack a pic up when my mate sends em to me.