Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to use slugs

How to use slugs

G'day,

Just wondering what the correct method for using a slug is? I've never used 'em before, and tried one today in the creek when a school of tailor came through, but no hook up. My other rod with a poddy on caught a good sized chopper, but she bit through my 30lb leader as I lifted her up. Do slugs work on tailor? I tried a really fast retrieve (the slug almost behaved like a popper) and a slower, more erratic action. Empty either way.

Thanks.

Cuzza

Generally cast into the school and wind as fast as you can mate, tailor are normally pretty responsive to slugs

Re: How to use slugs

Thanks, Cobiaman. Will try winding more briskly next time. I noticed the action was pretty convincing when I slowed it and made it erratic, and wondered if you'd maybe even get flatties/cod/jack on them? I'm new to anything other than bait for the estuaries (slowly converting after all these years), so it's all a mystery so far.

Cuzza

if they are not hitting, then cast and let sink for 3 seconds

if not, then try letting it sink 5 seconds etc

changes the depth the slug runs at

Good point, Trueblue. Never thought of that. Great advice. Thanks.

Cuzza

When I am chasing Spotties, I use 2 spinning rods,I cast one out ,put it the holder while it sinks,cast the second out and put it in the holder to let it sink.By now the first has sunk and wind like crazy,I use a Shimano TSS4.This drags the lure right through the water column.Change colours as different days different colours and sizes work better.

I tried many techniques and never got a strike, either so tailor in the area or incorrect lure on the day or the buggers just not interested.

Bondy

You can also just drop them straight down near beacons and jig them for mackeral...

Never struck a situation where tailor won't take slugs - if they are there. But there are a few methods you need to have up your sleeve for this to be the case.