Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Unprepared clowns

Re: Unprepared clowns

Outside the cities and in the bush, we all get bogged, matter of time, trick is to hide it from your friends or cop sh*&^t for a while

A lot of vehicles don't have a recovery point. Some have shipping tie downs that look like a recovery point, but aren't all that strong.

So if they haven't got, or installed, a recovery hook then you risk damaging their vehicle or yours. It annoys me but I still helped those that needed it even when it was a dodgy setup that I was not keen on using. I always seemed to use my straps because at least I knew the shackles etc were good.

But those days are over for me because I haven't had a 4wd for the last 5 years. I really want one though!

Quote Originally Posted by WalrusLike View Post
    A lot of vehicles don't have a recovery point. Some have shipping tie downs that look like a recovery point, but aren't all that strong.

So if they haven't got, or installed, a recovery hook then you risk damaging their vehicle or yours. It annoys me but I still helped those that needed it even when it was a dodgy setup that I was not keen on using. I always seemed to use my straps because at least I knew the shackles etc were good.

But those days are over for me because I haven't had a 4wd for the last 5 years. I really want one though!
    I think I told the story a while ago about a steep sandy drop off of about 3-4 metres that I had to winch someone up, as the tide was well on its way in and they where stuck. They could have turned around and ran back down the beach a fair bit and found the new exit they missed. But this 1 bloke said he was low on fuel.

After I winched the first bloke out, they all lined up. A crowd gathered and blokes where commenting standing behind me with beer while I did all the work. Threw the controls at them and got myself a beer and chair out. Funny as hell. Same as you say some have no recovery points. They where wrapping it around the diff, around the chassi, hooking onto any hole they could find. And a bumper decided it didnt like it possition anymore. Sorry bumpers, winch ripped off the front 1. And the sand and departure angle took care of the rear 1. Very entertaining.

Was like an episode of dumb and dumber. In the end these blokes didnt even bother hooking it on themselves. Just hold the rope off the edge and dangling it saying "here fishy fishy" and the owners would hook it on themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Whitty444 View Post
    Just a rant to get it off my chest. Went to Fraser for 6 days over Easter, and every time i went for a drive had to get all my rescue gear out to pull some clown out who didnt own a single piece of gear. No shovel, no shackles, no snatch straps, nothing. Now i am hardly a avid 4wd'er, just happen to own a 4wd so i can go to these sort of places, but first thing i do before i go is make sure i have enough gear in the car so if i get stuck, I can either a. try to extract myself, or b. have the gear there for someone else to yank me out. Pulled one clown out of a tiny bog, he didnt even know if he was in 4wd because he could only see his rear wheels spinning.....no gear as well. While pulling him out, clown #2 proceeds to jam right up his arse as i am snatching clown #1, gets bogged in exactly the same spot. No gear either. Gets shitty when i inform him of his stupidity, and refuses to stop spinning all 4 wheels, which served to bog him to the axles and make a bigger hole for the rest of us to get around. Even though it sounds childish, a thanks for diggng all my gear out and letting them use it would have been good, but not once did it come. And dont get me started on the folk who refuse to pull off any tracks because where they come from they think they run the show. Feel marginally better now, thanks for listening..
    Tell them the going rate for a rescue/recovery is $50 or a carton of beer.
    If they are not willing to pay let them dig in deeper.
    (Applies for idiots only)

I don't even consider using my gear unless the tyres are down. Then usually a good push is all that is needed with some maxtrax. The strap is for my car.

IF they are bogged through their own foolishness or arrogance- I don't help (eg they left their wheels in 2wd, or its mega soft sand, incoming tide, and they are in a soft roader / pretend 4wd where they shouldn't be). If they are bogged because of the terrain and bad luck, then I help, but I don't use my gear. To me it's the same logic as they taught us in the Reserves with our field dressings. You don't use your first aid stuff on somebody else, in case you need it later for yourself. In 4wd terms, will they be there if I get into trouble? Will they pay for repairs to my vehicle if my snap strap no longer works and I get stuck on an incoming tide??

I'll help push, dig and if a mate, I'll give them a tow but I don't burn my clutch/ warp my chassis for anybody, especially foolishness/laziness eg on the North Shore I recently witnessed a man stop on a low tide sand bank, on an incoming tide, to swim in the shallow gutter with his family. He stopped his brand new D-Max and swum in the gutter with his family, ignoring the fact his wheels were sinking in the sand with the incoming tide. He ended up needing a serious tow, and the bloke who towed him did it through salt water all over his brand new car. Brand new cars through salt water???? I wish I had that sort of money to waste!

I lived on Nth Straddie for around 9 years and saw it all. Been holidaying on Moreton, Straddie, Fraser, Nth Shore since I was born. I once had a guy on Nth Straddie wave me down (I was in a Suzuki - incoming tide on a badly eroded beach) and he asked for a tow. I looked around and couldn't see a car anywhere. Turns out he went up the"dry" creek (near Pt Lookout) for a private camp site (illegal) and nooky with his woman. His Landcruiser Troopy was up to its sills as it had sunk on the "dry" creek bed (made of sand, just behind the main sand dunes).

I laughed and ask him how on earth he though my little Suzuki would tow out his Troopy. He asked what he could do. I offered to take him into town and he could get one of the pro fishers to tow him out via a tractor. When I told him they name their price (eg thousands of dollars) he wasn't so keen. In the end I left him there on the basis that I'll let the Ranger know when I get to Pt Lookout, which I did. Personally I didn't want to stop as the tide was coming in fast and there was little beach.

Another time I saw some Euro's bogged in their Suzukis at Indian Head. Up to their axles. I got in, put the car into 4wd and drove the car off. They thought I was some sort of "expert". I mean seriously - not having the car in 4wd (granted they did well getting that far up the Island in 2wd)???? Idiots! Clearly they didn't read the instructions.

Another time on Straddie (about 20yrs ago now - how time flies) we were coming back off Main Beach from yet another awesome surfing session. I had to get to Brisbane to drop off a uni assignment. Both myself and my mate were in Suzuki's. When we got to the Main Beach cutting, there was this Asian (tourist?) bloke dressed in an African Safari suit (had long socks and polished shoes on - at the beach) bogged in a Landcruiser smack bang in the middle of the cutting. Both north and south on the beach was a congo line of 4wd's waiting to get out. This bloke was just standing there - not even helping himself, he must have known the tide was coming in so just assumed help would come. None of the other drivers waiting to get out were helping either, and I don't blame them. No one wanted to help him because of his arrogance.

Anyway - Jason and I looked at the narrow gap between the bogged car and the sand cliffs. I said to Jason "what do you reckon? Up and around?" Jason said we'd have to be careful or we'd run the risk of rolling the vehicles - and he was right. The small "dune" at the bottom of the sand cliff was on a very awkward angle, and I can only assume this was why none of the larger 4wds had attempted it (we were the only Zukes in the line up)

Anyway - with failure on the way if I didn' t make my uni deadline (and the water taxi), and being unable to run down to the Causeway cutting due to the incoming tide (neither did I want to chew a half a tank of juice doing it) I decided to take the chance and drive around him on the undulating dune faced off by a sand cliff.

I put the little Suzuki into low range, lined up my approach, picked my line and roared the little car into action over the soft stuff. What happened next left me gobsmacked. The driver of the bogged vehicle, who was doing absolutely nothing to help himself, arrogantly walked towards my speeding vehicle and raised his hand in the "stop" motion. I ignored him, just missed him by say 2 meters, I wasn't going to bog my (dad's) car on an incoming tide, and I thought, "you arrogant prat". I zoomed around him, the car angled up on the small amount of dune between the bogged car and the sand cliff in the cutting...

I made it through.

I stopped and looked to see Jason in his little Zuke following my path, flattening out the cutting even further. Suddenly all the large 4wds that were waiting (obviously for a while) roared into action and also followed the path, each one making tracks for the one that followed. All the while this arrogant bogged driver helplessly watched as he learnt a valuable lesson - don't take your fellow 4wd's for granted; be prepared to help yourself first and foremost and don't expect others to do the heavy lifting. At least 30+ vehicles roared around this guy in a matter of minutes.

It was an absolute classic day - one I will never forget!

Some people get bogged because they deserve to. These ones I never used my hard earned on to help. Others who help themselves - I do help, but I reserve my expensive gear for my own car (unless a good mate needs it). Maybe that's selfish, maybe it's common sense. But really - you should not go off road without some basic recovery gear. A shovel, snap strap at the least. Don't be a Socialist 4wder, take your own, use your own.

I help every time all the time and expect the same . The world maybe changed and everybody judging everybody , i wont . If you in trouble you need help and not a lecture from some know it all .
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

Quote Originally Posted by manchild View Post
    I help every time all the time and expect the same . The world maybe changed and everybody judging everybody , i wont . If you in trouble you need help and not a lecture from some know it all .
    George
    +1, I would usually help if help was needed.....but I can see how living near the popular Qld 4WD tourist spots might make you a little cynical

Same George. My snatch strap has been used a lot but never on the front of my Disco . I enjoy helping people and can't just drive by if no one has stopped for them. Cheers
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Where I come from we are always happy to help people out. We launch across the beach and there are always people getting bogged. One guy had to be pulled out a few times over the season so I can understand some cynicism but its easy to miss judge people as well.

I like the look on their faces when the bungy cord does it's trick with inexperienced people needing the heave-ho.
    One second it's all dopey faced and then a split second later it's all eyes.
    But that's even a rare occurrence. Usually it's just a helping hand tow job through the soft sand that's needed.
    Biggest hassle we have when we do that is to make the people understand.....don't spin all the wheels all nutso like. It's only going to make it dig down deeper.

I like to help but if it seems I'm going to do damage to me then another solution needs to be nutted out.
    We're lucky though. It's normally just bogged and no rises or cuttings or any other traps for young players we have to worry about.

Tyre pressures is the biggest problem we've found. Straight off the highway straight onto the beach and they just couldn't be bothered to walk down the track first to see what the go is.

Why is it when someone gets bogged they look for an old Landrover with fishing rods on the front to help them??

Cheers Bert.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Its easy to say drive around but most the time if find em there stuck in the middle of the track and ya gotta pullem out to get around.As i found at fraser last week.Most the time it was my own crew how ever ,wouldnt have went down to well leavin them behind .Standin in the gutter rod in one hand esky in the other an no boat to go

So this thread is about the clowns who are unprepared due to lack of education or what-ever.
    What about the prepared clowns who think they can go anywhere and do anything they seem fit to do??

I've seen a heap of the prepared clowns. I consider them to be worse then the unprepared clowns.

Cheers Alfred
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I'm more worried about the fact that it's a dog eat dog world in this thread. The only way I learnt to recover my vehicle was either by someone stopping and showing me the way or asking and learning. You can't expect someone to learn how to recover if you won't give them the time to show them.
    When someone says they haven't let the tyres down, explain why. If they're spinning their wheels, tell them it ruts. It ain't rocket science.
    Blokes are just out there to have a good time and get in on the action, help em get the most out of it, cause one day they'll be the only bloke in a million miles when you're royally shafted and need a hand.

I spent some time one day with a German tourist in front of me trying to climb an axle twising hill at Fraser in an 80 series with a little lift (rentathrash). Poor bugger was told the tyres were set right - I said they looked at h'way psi. He tried and tried with me saying each time lets air down...eventually we did - from 60psi (LT's) down to 22 and he climbed the hill no worries and we aired him back up up the top. Gotta help!!
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing