Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Big brother is watching.

Re: Big brother is watching.

Quote Originally Posted by pescados View Post
    Going by the comments above, looks like the KGB is alive and well and putting their noses in other people's business
    so they can see how much more they can screw the workers so they can have pay rises.
    A lead sandwich comes to mind to send to Canberra, one for each.
    How much you earn, and how much tax you pay IS very much THEIR business.....and there will always be those who think the rules don't apply to them and they should not pay their fair share.

If you think our tax department is intrusive...just thank your lucky starts you don't live in most other developed countries.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Quote Originally Posted by oldboot View Post
    How much you earn, and how much tax you pay IS very much THEIR business.....and there will always be those who think the rules don't apply to them and they should not pay their fair share.

If you think our tax department is intrusive...just thank your lucky starts you don't live in most other developed countries.

but what does that have to do with what boat you buy?

Hey these are bean counting trolls, they don't care what boat you baught, only how much you spent, where it came from and how much TAX is owed.

OH and of course....if you have a large tax bill that you cant pay.....how much they can sell your boat for.

and what if the money you bought it with is tax free..what the hell does it have to do with them?

If that money is tax free, of course you will have the documentation to prove that...right.

Even if there is no tax payable on an amount of money...its still beans to be counted and zero is a number.

In this day and age any ligitimate transaction of $25 000 will not go unscrutinised, no matter the source or destination.

Just try drawing $25G in cash from your bank or getting on an overseas plane with $25G in cash.

Quote Originally Posted by oldboot View Post
    If that money is tax free, of course you will have the documentation to prove that...right.

Even if there is no tax payable on an amount of money...its still beans to be counted and zero is a number.

In this day and age any ligitimate transaction of $25 000 will not go unscrutinised, no matter the source or destination.

Just try drawing $25G in cash from your bank or getting on an overseas plane with $25G in cash.

some might and some might not. I have bought a boat with tax free money..if the ATO asked at the time they would havebeen toldto p off.

There is no where to hide fellas. I recently sold my Tinnie to help finance an overseas trip for my Wife and I.

Being on the pension we have to tell the C.link office when you are leaving the country and when you return. Something like 48/ 72 hours or they will cut your pension.

We phoned within a day or so and they said yes they know we were back!

Their computers are linked to customs, so they know when you sneeze.

Gordon

a nanny state Gordon..but I guess with the Govt we have what can you expect. They got rid of Howard's workchoices or whatever it is called..so they made an Ombudsman..fair work australia..that is staffed by nothing but incompetent idiots and I have the paperwork to prove that.

Pin Head mate, they know where you live, they probley knew about your tax free dollars before you did and that cash you have stuffed in your matress....they snuck in and counted it while you and the MRS where down the shops.......because you are a dodgy bugger and self employed they have a toll living under your bed and he sneaks out and counts the money you tucked in your socks, while you are asleap.

Gazza are you just saying that about scotty because he likes worms for brunch. ASIO and the tax office get a look in at anything over $10000.
    Graham

If you reckon looking at boats is KGB stuff well have I got news for you.

Out here a few years ago some smart clown worked out how much bailing string went into a making a bail of hay.
    They then went and checked how many bails of hay people declared they sold and how much bailing string they brought.
    If the two did not match then questions asked.
    The smart clown forgot about knots and rats eating the string etc etc etc and many other reasons a ball of string had to be thrown out. A few people had to 'please explain'.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Don't kid ya self the tax department is not a stupid as some people want to make out.

In many industries they look for an "indicator", it might be bailing twine, chinese food containers, pizza boxes or whatever they think will make a good statistical indicator......something that may look insignificant but is critical to doing the business.

They do some rough calculations, then they do a bunch of audits to prove and refine that indicator......they will intentionally include in that bunch of trial audits, people they know are pretty straight players, as well a those they think are dodgy.

Over a couple of auditing cycles they refine that indicator and account for the wastages and irregularities.

Then they don't need to widely audit that area any more only a taxpayer does not fit the known variations in the profile.

So they continue thru the various industry sectors doing audits, sure they will catch a few and put the wind up plenty more, but these days the primary function of sector wide audits is produce statistical information.

From there they automaticaly via computer analise your tax returns and your financial information to see if it matches the profile.

You can bet your boots that the tax department profiling shows that there are plenty of dodgy bastards out there with expensive boats over $25K.

OR maybe they are just sturing the pot to see what comes to the top.

But don't ever thing you are smarter than the tax department....you aren't.

Oldboot, by "rough calculations", do you mean like statistical indicators the government used for the low Snapper Stocks.....
    The seem pretty close to the same information they use to gather information on whatever they like. THEY MAKE IT UP !!!
    How did the government get away with letting total scammers take millions out of our health system, Why didn't the ATO find that crook ???
    That's right the ATO was to busy looking at Bailing twine Statistical Information and catching all the Boating tax cheats !!!

Cheers and Beers, Hangon we must be cheating the system, we can afford to buy Beer !!

What about all those dole cheats.......
    You'd think they could see fraud there.
    How can someone who depends on the dole afford a 5 year old Commodore with 22" chrome wheels, smoke, go to the pub and have the latest, greatest mobile phone.
    I thought the dole was for subsistence.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by fishfeeder View Post
    Oldboot, by "rough calculations", do you mean like statistical indicators the government used for the low Snapper Stocks.....
    The seem pretty close to the same information they use to gather information on whatever they like. THEY MAKE IT UP !!!
    How did the government get away with letting total scammers take millions out of our health system, Why didn't the ATO find that crook ???
    That's right the ATO was to busy looking at Bailing twine Statistical Information and catching all the Boating tax cheats !!!

Cheers and Beers, Hangon we must be cheating the system, we can afford to buy Beer !!
    If the public servants in the health department or fisheries could do maths they would not be working there, they would have jobs in treasury or be working for the tax department.

As for why the federal tax department did not know what was happening in QLD health......the government does not pay tax and health is a state department.

The biggest insult is that someone so stupid could be allowed to transfer large amounts of funds out of QLD health on an ongoing basis in the first place.
    He obvioulsy did not have a plan for getting the money or himself out of the country.

If someone in health did not ring the bell, federal treasury or the tax department would have caught up with the bloke pretty soon anyway......if they did not know first.

Come on $10mil pluss in one hit, ya think that does not go in noticed.