Thread: Deep Cycle Battery Charger

Deep Cycle Battery Charger

I am just new to canoe fishing and just bought a predator and it came with a minn kota and a deep cycle battery. Can someone please how to charge a deep cycle battery and what kind of running hours can you expect out of a full battery, motor is a minn kota 36lb.

Thanks for your help.

Ron

Re: Deep Cycle Battery Charger

A few variables Ron

What size battery do you have .

How hard you work the Minnkota .

Typically I get a full days lure casting out of a I Pilot Minnkota 54lb bowmount with a 75 amp/hr Optima Deep cycle . I d probably get another day or two before it is depleted , but I charge it at the end of every day .

Shane,

Its used on a canoe i recently bought, to be honest i dont know what the size of the battery is...........sorry im totally new to this kind of fishing lol

just checked battery is 12volt/120ah, can you provide some advise pls?

Pick one - (xs7000 and up would be my choice) http://www.batteriesdirect.com.au/sh...FSZNpgodNRfk2Q
    You pay a bit more for the ctec but I am yet to hear of any complaints besides price. I have the 4003 and it does the job on my optima d34 and bikes etc. Charging it after every use will help with its longevity.

Quoted -

"• Amp draw is the measurement of electrical current drawn from a storage battery (or battery), while the trolling motor is being operated at maximum speed.
    • Minn Kota 's published amp draw figures represent actual on the water conditions (with all of the motor 's wiring, switches and circuitry in the electrical system as the test measurement is taken).
    • Approximate length of running time when operation a trolling motor at full power can be determined with a motor 's amp draw and the battery amp hour rating.
    Example: A single 120 amp hour, 12 volt battery and a 12 volt trolling motor drawing 20 amps at the highest speed setting will run for about 3.4 hours.
    • The formula for the calculation is as follows: