Thread: structure scan in 40m plus

structure scan in 40m plus

How deep are these structure scan units effective too? Especially when looking for rubble ground and small pinnacles in 30 to 70m. My HDS 7 does a good job on 200 and 80KHz. However, it would be nice to sweep a larger area of the bottom with atleast the same indication my HDS already gives me. Subsequently, extend my list of secret spots..

I've been thinking about purchasing a Lowrance LSS-1 structure scan setup. Would be helpful to hear if this unit is suited for this purpose..

Re: structure scan in 40m plus

G'Day Mate, I recently bought a HDS 10 with Structure Scan, i am still learning how to use it effectively, but i like the results i am getting so far. All my work is generally in shallow water, to about 50 feet tops, to date i have been using it in impoundments chasing barra with spectular results, being able to locate fish and target them with great sucess. I have taken a lot of screen shots, some close to the dam walls are in water over 100 feet deep, bearing in mind that i'm not sure about the settings in the deeper water, the results show a fair amount of detail, i will try and post a couple of screen shots and i will then try and describe what they are.
    Attached Images Attached Images

The first shot is in relitively shallow water, it shows submerged trees, a rise in the bottom and on the right had side what is possibly a creek bed, the window on the right side of the first pic is the downscan shot, i should say the boat position is at the top of the page when looking at the side scan pic.