Page 20 of 23 FirstFirst ... 1011121314151617181920212223 LastLast

Thread: leatherjackets 2011

Re: leatherjackets 2011

Aaargh...caught one today...jinxed myself...horrible stinky wriggly bloody thing. It was however, the only one in 2hrs of spinning. Plenty of blokes soaking pillies who didnt get any either so thery're not thick........yet

Are we talking Salmon here??
    A mate from inland hooked one today on a lure and he got excited about it!!
    Was getting prepared for the worst and luckily it got off.
    Told him it was a saltwater rat!!

about time the Salmon turned up

cheers Murf

Meaga amounts of them off brunswick heads today boys ...... get out there and thin the barstards out a bit !

crab man,

Yeah I guess they would be when one is occupied doing something else. They need to be captuable from the beach or Northern wall of Brunswick heads for me. Pissing down rain again, I'll be down at Brunswick Thursday evening

Bondy

Hi bondy im talking about jackets not salmon mate

Just waiting for a break in work & weather,
    worked 6 days last week & Sunday was crap.

Crab man, that's a bit better.

Muzz,

That's the way it goes sometimes.

Bondy

Beaut, you can get a good feed for a fiver when they get thick.
    The crappy weather might slow down the evans fish kill.
    Geez the sth ballina wall was crowded with evans fishos last weekend.

My sentiments exactely Rabbi,
    the best thing about the jackets is their timing,
    with jackets & weather, there might be some fish left when the classic is over.

$6.90/kg at the local seafood joint on the sign out the front

hey Muz it looks like it may be good this weekend for the mob coming down from Brisvegas and was wondering what depth line is good to start looking for the jackets off my area? do they show up in mid water in schools (a bit like trag) in 100 + m of water? a few mates have been losing a bit of gear over the past couple of weeks for no return haha

cheers Murf

I have the right gear for em, just waiting for right time

Bondy

G'day Murf,

as a rule the jackets stay out about the 30 fathom mark,
    but they were nearly on the beach last year.

Best go would be to head to your closest 32f reef & go from there,
    you'll find them from there all the way out to the shelf,
    we've still caught em in 200 m some years.

When you find them you will know,
    it will be impossible to catch anything else,
    start by dropping to the bottom, once you start catching them you will only need to go halfway down to find them.
    Last year we had them feeding 10 feet under the boat.

Hey muzz,
    Its a wonder that you still got a prop having them that close to the boat. Saltwater Piranhas

Another good reason for a stainless prop,

one day last year I had just came up with jackets & Chris just swung his trace back into the water (trace about 5 ft long) & he caught one, without letting any line go.