Thread: Spearo help needed in getting parrotfish

Re: Spearo help needed in getting parrotfish

Thanks Longole.

Thanks Badone, just sent you a pm, let me know how things go and where you want to catch up so to speak.

I hope they are licenced to sell fish..... Big risk for $18

Quote Originally Posted by ShaneC View Post
    a fair point but I don't think they are that silly, probably happily donate frames but definately no money or goods should go the other way!

Still trying to get out had six hundred mm of rain last week and now forty knot winds

Quote Originally Posted by ShaneC View Post
    ShaneC

These are covered by a Research Permit.

I am pretty sure True Parrot can be caught on line using crabs as bait. They will not take any other bait, and are a daytime only species as they wrap themselves up in their little muccous cocoon at night.

Lucky 1,

G'day mate, Venus task fish , also referred to by recreational anglers as parrot (not true parrot) also spin a mucous coocoon. Not often you can catch a true parrot on mono or braid but relatively easily by speargun

I've only seen venus tusk fish caught on fishing line (mono or braid) on pillies or squid.

6 frames in the esky Bondy. Give me a call.

Thanks Badone,

Much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by BigE View Post
    Gee i wonder which fish will be next on the list to have increased restrictions placed on them!

BigE
    Hi BigE.

any change to the regs for parrot fish will be a pure coincidence!

Quote Originally Posted by BigE View Post
    It all starts somewhere.......... remember the call for mackral frames ........ yeah that went well didn't.
    BigE
    One day you will have to give me the details of this comment you've made on a number of occasions, but never backed up with facts.

Jono.