Thread: Stradic Ci4 Vs Pflueger Patriarch

Stradic Ci4 Vs Pflueger Patriarch

Hi Guys,

In the market for a decent Bream combo, was set on a 1000 Ci4 / Jewel combo but asked the question of my Mate at the tackle shop and he showed me the Pflueger Patriarch. I've put them both on rods to 'feel' the balance, to be honest, the Patriarch on the Patriarch XT rod felt a heaps better match and I found the reel considerably smoother, it does have 3 extra bearings. The Patriarch rod feels top shelf, having already having a Pflueger Supreme and a couple of Trions, I know their rods stand up to the test.

There's bugger all weight difference, the reduced weight of the Patriarch rod easily surpasses the 10g saving of the Stradic, I've got a Shimano Twinpower 1000 already that I'm stoked with and I know you can't fault the brand but at this stage I'm leaning towards the Pflueger combo, anyone got any opinions?

Cheers, Jamie.
    My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Re: Stradic Ci4 Vs Pflueger Patriarch

I feel that the patriach is a better reel than the Ci4 - more refined ..... but not a huge amount in it - Prices for both reels out of the US are very attractive
    I can't comment on the rods though

Thanx Chris,

I'm with you so far, can tell you the rods are good gear, definitely worth checking out.

Quote Originally Posted by OverNover View Post
    Thanx Chris,

I'm with you so far, can tell you the rods are good gear, definitely worth checking out.

I know the Jewel ..... have not used it though - it seems to fit between the Raiders & T Curve ..... but not sure of the blank - I dont even know anyone who is using one - so cant really pass judgement.

Yeah Chris, you're spot on with the placement in the range, I have 2 Jewels, 1 light Bream rod matched to a Twinpower 1000 and one 6-10kg Barra Baitcaster matched to a Chronarch BSV, they are great rods for the money, can't fault them but for the extra $50 the new Pflueger Patriarch XT rods are on another level. High carbon, super light...............................I think I'm talking myself into it!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by OverNover View Post
    Yeah Chris, you're spot on with the placement in the range, I have 2 Jewels, 1 light Bream rod matched to a Twinpower 1000 and one 6-10kg Barra Baitcaster matched to a Chronarch BSV, they are great rods for the money, can't fault them but for the extra $50 the new Pflueger Patriarch XT rods are on another level. High carbon, super light...............................I think I'm talking myself into it!!!!!
    Sounds like it - you generally will know if one model of rod is better than another ........ you can usually feel the difference even before you put a reel on it

Have a Patriarch 9540 and as u have mentioned it is very smooth.....Having said that I have not used the reel in anger at this point......It is a beautifully refined bit of gear and should be a pleasure to cast all day.
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Cheers Whitto & Chris, reckon I'll go with the Pflueger 1000, run it for a while and if I'm happy I'll grab a 40 for the Barra, Cheers.

I am also looking for a 1000 series reel for my yak and was looking at the luvias Da daiwa but I will look at the pfluger now it seems like a good option, but who in the states would you buy from , I find charges for postage varies radically from one company to another ....Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    I am also looking for a 1000 series reel for my yak and was looking at the luvias Da daiwa but I will look at the pfluger now it seems like a good option, but who in the states would you buy from , I find charges for postage varies radically from one company to another ....Matt
    For small spin & baitcast reels - Tackle warehouse is pretty good ( $35ish shipping ..... 1 or 2 reels) - so buy with a mate (split the cost) & you'll have it on your doorstep in around 5 days. I use these guys a lot & I cannot rate them high enough.

Thanks for that I appreciate heads up ... Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

I have a 2500 stradic ci4 and i love it to bits. I matched it up with a 2-4kg luvias rod ( silver model ). Awesome little combo somehow managed a 56cm jack on the combo on 5lb.

I bought my ci4 for around 192$ of ebay it came from Malaysia. picked up my 5lb power pro for 14$ from the usa.

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    Thanks for that I appreciate heads up ... Matt
    $37 shipping for 2 reels - both the Ci4 & Patriach sell for $199 each -

local price $279 / Ci4 & $299 / Patriarch

Sweet, Thanx Chris.