Thread: Darwin Land Based

Darwin Land Based

Hi folks.
    I have searched the forums, but couldn't find anything.

I have just moved from Sunny Coast to Darwin for the next few months, and have no boat.

Can anyone maybe suggest a few land based fishing spots in and around Darwin??? I have a 4wd ute, so travel wouldnt be a problem.

Im not after secret spots of course, just general ideas.

really appreciate any replies.

cheers all,

Re: Darwin Land Based

yeah mate atm there is plenty of good fishing around from your culverts, pop into got one or another local fishing shop and they will point you in the right direction. Been getting a few fish on the drop bears squigys.

go into the cavanagh st tackle store and ask they will steer you in the right direction dundee beach on a high tide weather permitting the barrage at shady camp but watch the snapping handbags do not wade in the water there

shane

Gday Mike yeah the best bet for barra at the moment i reckon is the culverts or the spillway at manton dam, if you wanna chase queenies and rat gts the rocks at fanny bay- east point junction fish well at high tide and you can pick up the odd lost barra at times .But as the guys have said call in to any of the fishin shops and have a chat.
    I am from down that way too mate welcome to heaven
    "I would rather cut off my own ding dong than admit alcohol is not food" William Murderface-Metalocalypse

I had fun when up there for a week last year, caught Queenies up to 80cm long and GT's to 50cms land based from fisherman's warf also whats the name of that jetty on the other side of the bay? they catch some very nice fish from it at times.

mandora wharf is the word your looking for brandon. magic place.
    try night cliff jetty on the hi for trevs and queenies and sometimes macs.
    try right on the no fishing signes at doctors gully for milkys.
    larakia army base rock walls for every thing.
    cullen bay for queenies and trevs and barra in the marina.
    the small creek that runs beside the casino is good for barra.
    threddies and barra on the flats at dina beach
    the mouth of the duck pond for queenies.
    every thing and anything from around channel island.
    lee point for macs of the beach.
    bufalo creek for barra jack bullies cattys lol and thrddies, good prawning too just watch for giant land geckos but.
    just find some water and start casting.
    o yer rapid creeks good for barra and jacks too. just get out there and look around, darwin is full of fishing spots
    figjam :wink:

Thanks for all your replies folks....
    I will check them out.

Went for a cast to the Elizabeth River boat ramp yesterday.... got a nudge from a queenie or trevally, i could see the flash in the water, but he didnt like the lure.....

The only real bites I got were fro the bloody midgies... they could have carried me back to Darwin city!!!!

thanks again folks...

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH View Post
    I had fun when up there for a week last year, caught Queenies up to 80cm long and GT's to 50cms land based from fisherman's warf also whats the name of that jetty on the other side of the bay? they catch some very nice fish from it at times.
    Thanks Brandon, and all you other folk. The jetty on the other side of the bay is Mandorah. Its a nice spot, and goos fishing I believe.

Yep, I have found a couple of spots. Buffalo Creek, near Lee Point is a nice fishy looking spot where they tell me that they catch a few barra. I have tried it a couple of times with only a toady jumping on the lure.

Still.... gotta keep trying. I will head up the Arnhem Hwy and try from the culverts.

Its great up here, but looking forward to getting back to the Sunny Coast in a few mths.