Thread: In need of some advice

In need of some advice

G'day folks. I am still learning when it comes to Fly Fishing so a bit of advice would be appreciated.

I have used the fly rod around the Bass streams in my area with a little success and just recently had a chance to try for Trout on the New England Tableland.

Not good.

They were thick as my cousin was hauling them in on tiger worms and they were surfacing from time to time. Taking insects I would say.

I managed to catch one on a small hard bodied with the spinning gear, it may have looked like a grasshoper.

But when it came to using the fly rod I had no success. I was using featherd floating flys that you would use for bass. Tried some grub pattens that Michael described recently. Made mine from thin styrene sheet, bound and coloured up.

What was happening is they were having a look at most of the pattens but not biting. I was adding a variety of twiches but had no takers.

I thought I should have some genuine Trout flys but if one was happy to take the hard bodied, aprox' 40 mm long you would think size was not a problem.

Any coments will be appreciated.

Regards Gordon

Hi Gordon,

I think your best bet is to do a search on the net, "best bass flies", I'm sure you will get what you want,

I have not targeted Bass myself but a mate has fly fished them extensively and suggested the "Bass Vampire" fly,

It is very easy to make, here is a link on how to make one,
    http://www.illawarraflyfishers.com.a...ss_vampire.htm

My mate has caught a lot of bass on this fly, his favourite colours are purple and black

Hope to have a go at some bass myself one day

Regards,
    Gary
    Edit: Nearly forgot, if the bass were surfacing, a "Gartside Gurgler" would also be an option!
    Last edited by GLXMAN; 31-10-2010 at 01:41 PM. Reason: late edit

Re: In need of some advice

Sorry Garry, it is the Trout I am having the trouble with. Just had a few days after them middle of last week.

Regards Gordon