Thread: stinger hooks on soft plastics.

stinger hooks on soft plastics.

Ok so today was fishing for flatties i hooked up to them but they cant comeing off and i lost a decent bream also. or was it just bad lucl

I am using size one or 1/0 hooks maybe i should upsize to 2/0. But was thinking is there a good way to rig up stinger hooks on shaky shads/ squidgy fish. maybe just a small treble hook near the tail?. What are some suggestions to do this the best way i was thinking just a little bit of 15lb line or something about 2cm long ? or is there a easy way to do it. Does it impare the action to much. would love so suggestions cheers .

Do many people have stinger rigs on there soft plastics?.

I forgot to mention im using 70 and 80mm baits. and that im new to the whole soft plastic fishing so just trying to improve my chances and over comeing the things i experience while using them.

Re: stinger hooks on soft plastics.

I know some of the Barra boys use a stinger trebble suspended under a slick rig off trace wire from the jig head. You could probably do it with a 70-80mm version as well with a smaller hook. I had a go at a few of these a while back but over crimped the wire and lost a few trebbles on hook ups. Gotta learn how to use a crimper properly one day.
    I wonder if a stinger hook like is used on a spinner bait would work ok.
    Steve

double post

I know some of the Barra boys use a stinger trebble suspended under a slick rig off trace wire from the jig head. You could probably do it with a 70-80mm version as well with a smaller hook. I had a go at a few of these a while back but over crimped the wire and lost a few trebbles on hook ups. Gotta learn how to use a crimper properly one day.
    I wonder if a stinger hook like is used on a spinner bait would work ok.
    Steve
    Most the info i have googled on this was for spinner baits. So seems there the popular choice for stingers.