Thread: rainbow beach marlin

Talking rainbow beach marlin

i caught my first marlin about 500 m off double island pt head land(between there and wolf rock).:grin: :grin:

it was caught early january while trolling pillies and pink skirts for mackeral, we drove up from north shore caravan park as we heard ppl were catching mackeral there and drvove the low tide got there about 12:30pm and were out there for about 30 mins with out a hit, there were heaps of birds so just kept goin thru them and then got a hook up on the alvey at the back of the boat in the pics. 15-20 mins later after putting up a great show (would of jumped more then 15 times and almost into the boat) we landed the beast didnt weight it but would say it was around 25kilo and then on our way back home by 2:00pm so we didnt lose it as it didnt really fit in the esky:huh:

Re: rainbow beach marlin

Fantastic effort!!

Great to see some smaller models getting around closer to shore.

Thanks,

Jason.
    FISHING IS NOT A HOBBY...................IT'S AN OBSESSION!!

i caught my first marlin about 500 m off double island pt head land(between there and wolf rock).:grin: :grin:

it was caught early january while trolling pillies and pink skirts for mackeral, we drove up from north shore caravan park as we heard ppl were catching mackeral there and drvove the low tide got there about 12:30pm and were out there for about 30 mins with out a hit, there were heaps of birds so just kept goin thru them and then got a hook up on the alvey at the back of the boat in the pics. 15-20 mins later after putting up a great show (would of jumped more then 15 times and almost into the boat) we landed the beast didnt weight it but would say it was around 25kilo and then on our way back home by 2:00pm so we didnt lose it as it didnt really fit in the esky:huh:

Bloody hell ... goood on ya OST ..... mate, .. nice fish to boot !!! ....

Thats too cool. Bet you werent expecting that one. Congrats! Ben

Good work. From what I can see in the small photo I would call it about 15 to 18kg.

Not that size is an issue with billfish.....they are all billfish!

Anyone using alveys in there trolling pattern big game style deserves a thumbs up, nice work

Frothin for ya. Sic
    Stop professional fishing... before it's too late!

congratulations!a great capture-splendid to see image!