Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: camper trailers

camper trailers

out of all of us here ,i was just wondering who has a 4x4 offroad camper trailer-and who built the trailer itself and brought the tent to sit on top.which tent do you have -and all the pics about the place would be great.thanks
    ian

Re: camper trailers

Try the Camel Group in Slacks Creek. They make 10' and 13' camper tents to order on site with Australian made dynaproofed canvas. They are not the cheapest but IMO they are great value for money. One things for sure - you'll get what you pay for.

http://www.camelgroup.com.au/product...=Camper%20Tops

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/s...ead.php?t=8607

http://forums.overlander.com.au/view...hlight=trailer

http://forums.overlander.com.au/view...ilding+trailer

Don't underestimate the cost of building one as this one cost me $1540 and I had the wheels and tyres and springs.

This is a built tough camper made in SA, great trailer tough canvas we love it.

http://www.builttough.com.au/camper.html
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

i built mine the top is oztrail! love it , has been to the cape and back! no problems!
    the frame is one piece, nice and strong. has 2 water tanks under, all the bells and whistles, the kitchen even has a gas oven and stove combo!

I like the idea of the new polymate camper,
    http://www.polymate.com.au/

I have an oztrail tent and got a fully hot dip galv offroad trailer built to my specs by Nathan trailers. Love it.

Kev

I have a Lifestyle Camper made down at Slacks Creek.

I think it is one of the better value for money Campers (looked at heaps before I bought)

Probably not the best quality camper but good value. They make their own tents and seem to be good quality canvas. There was alot of imported tents stuck on trailers out there when I was looking. You could tell the difference in the quality of the Aussie made stuff.

Aaron

thanks everyone, for the replies.Aaron ,mate its those imports that worry me, iv,e even seen 1 trailer that was put together with rivets and screws.[ that will make it to the top ].as a metalworker i,m looking at things that just dont seem to tell me they are well made, so ive decided that i,ll build the trailer, to suit the troll wheel base , and use the same said hubs. Brakes, well i know i will need them but do i use electric or override discs. i want a treg hitch or similar.Shano, where did you get your spring/axle and hubs from/what are they rated to ?
    let the fun begin
    cheers for the replies guys
    ian

Log yourself onto MySwag.org. It is a specific off road camper trailer forum and I'm sure you will find your answer there........

There are many questions you need to answer wrt Camper Trailer. Primarily what is your budget has you can get cheap and very, very expensive. I have had 3 Camper Trailers over the years with my most recent being a Kimberley Camper which was fantastic though before that we had a soft floor camper by Customline Campers which was also good value for money.....

PS: There are some big differences between Soft floor and Hard floor campers. Some good and some bad......

Some pictures.......

My soft floor camper on the back of my old Patrol crossing Ivanhoe Crossing near Kunnunara...

My 2005 Limited Edition Kimberley Kamper...

I've found this place in Wynnum good to deal with for trailer parts, suspension, couplings and so on: http://www.etrailerparts.com.au/

Wheels and tyres to match your vehicle would be handy for interchangeable spares if necessary.

I've found a lot of trailers oversprung so estimate your weight and work back from there. ALKO rebound springs are good.
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

teabag, mate the customline tent is what i really like ,well made , seems to be of a heavier canvas. and i,m already a member at myswag, but i like to research as much as i can. softfloor is the way i,m looking atm,and a kimberley is on my dream list
    thanks
    ian

and apart from the winch and areil that looks like my truck

Quote Originally Posted by sid_fishes View Post
    teabag, mate the customline tent is what i really like ,well made , seems to be of a heavier canvas. and i,m already a member at myswag, but i like to research as much as i can. softfloor is the way i,m looking atm,and a kimberley is on my dream list
    thanks
    ian
    Ian,

No worries, didn't know you where aware or a member of MySwag. I am a moderator on there so you would have seen my set up before, sorry......

Wrt the Customline, they have changed owners since I bought mine in 02 but they are still basically the same I believe. Honestly, they are very good value for money. Ours had crossed Australia twice, been all through the Kimberley's and many, many camping trips without one issue.....Yes, the canvas is 15oz and very heavy duty. Great little unit.....

Teabag

mate in all honesty i did not know you were a mod, nor have i seen your truck, only been there a couple of weeks and still finding my way around. its a great site ,just like this ,so full of info
    thanks
    ian