Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: deepwater jumpinpin flathead

deepwater jumpinpin flathead

hey guys, im so keen to catch a croc (big flathead) but its been years since. I've been trying to do it in front of swan bay down to kalinga bank with no luck. i find it very difficult method to do while drifting as my boat doesnt have a electric motor and catches the wind alot. I have been using half oz to 1 oz jig heads with large atomic and berkely sps. Is it possible to fish this way without an electric motor. I can do it at anchor but limits the area i cover. i have caught some but no real bigins.
    any pointers??

Re: deepwater jumpinpin flathead

drifting is fine, as long as your getting the lure to the bottom, you will have better luck with the real big ones if you fish the spawning season sept, oct, nov. cheers BK

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

I am no expert on SP fishing but catch lots of fish using plastics in the estuary.
    Half or 1 oz jigheads is what I use when I go out reef fishing with plastics in 80 metres of water.

For estuary use I seldom go above 1/8 oz of weigh. I don't want to tell you what to do, but I feel your jighead is too heavy for the area.

Your idea of drifting for flathead is excellent and I do it almost all the time. When using plastics for flathead in the estuary, use a light rod and jighead while drifting along the edge of a sand bank, give the lure a little action by raising the rod tip quickly 3 times and resting. It causes the lure to look like an injured or dying fish bumping the bottom of the channel every now and then, and causing the sand to be disturbed. Flathead can't resist it.

Try this method and I am sure your catch rate will improve out of sight. That's all I do and I catch heaps of flathead. I have sent a photo of a 68 cm specimen caught 2 weekends ago in Jacobs Well to show you that the method works.

Cheers