Thread: Building a Hard Top

Building a Hard Top

Howdy ausfishers,
    Just about to commence building a hard top for my 6.5m plate boat. Currently I have a canvas bimini attached to an aluminium frame with rocket launchers attached to the frame. Works well-ish but isnt water prrof, is a little unstable and I just don't like the clears.

So heres my plan:

My brother can aluminium weld with his mig welder (panel beater by trade - has all the gas/parts we need) so he was top of my list to enroll in this little project

I've sourced all the parts I need - sheet aluminium (3mm) for top, front and sides, square tubing for framework, lexan/polycarbonate for windows, windscreen extrusions, marine ply for interior skin under roof, various fittings and attachments.

Cost is estimated to come in at around $650 - aluminium approx $300, lexan about $150, window extrusions about $80, ply about $100. Hoipefully will recycle the rocket launcher tubes. Gotta love having mates in the industry!

I'll post pics and progress in case anyone is interested. This will be my first real attempt at modifying a boat. Any suggestions/comments would be greatly appreciated!

Our plan is to head out and pick most of the parts we need to start this weekend!

Re: Building a Hard Top

Hi Volcano (is that because of something you ate?)

There was a thread on here not long ago from one of the AFs who has made a mould and is turning out ready made bolt on fibreglass hard tops. Not sure of the $s but I have a feeling a professional looking glass hardtop would add more $s to your boat and be cooler too

Do search on here and I'm sure you will find it, or someone else will point you in the right direction.

Cheers
    Chimo

Good luck with that i am keen to see how you go with it, i will be doing the same in the future but i want it to be able to fold it down similar to the bar crushers canopy's.

@Chimo - not something I ate, just can get a bit fiery