Thread: What have you added to your crumb mix

Re: What have you added to your crumb mix

sorry, but why would you wanna copy kfc?, thats gotta be the nastiest "food" around. eeesh
    i still think just salt/pepper and butter with lemon is the simplest and easiest. it does justice to the fisf,although the above mentioned spices are fantastic....just not kfc.
    "izzz izzz izzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz"... sounds of heaven.

"You're gonna need a bigga esky!"

Quote Originally Posted by deepfried View Post
    I think i really have to try corn flakes crushed up. I kmow a few people that rekon its damn good. I have used polenta before and it was good but didnt give a crunchy coat for me. I have a few flattie fillets in the freezer from a recent trip so will try it with them and also with some coconut.
    FNQs KFC mix with crushed corn flakes added to it would be a pretty good copy of KFC but i am not sure about it with fish. Might try it on some chicken though.

What would be the closest to wild barra for us south of the border to try the maccas on. I have no shortage of macca nuts down this way but the barra might take me longer to get lol.

Try it on some snapper-- any of the fleshie species, cod, sweetlip.
    I tried it once on flatty fillet but wasn't impressed.

Ronnie

Quote Originally Posted by flybloke View Post
    That is missing the eleventh spice??
    I know what it is (or I think I do)
    Wanna know? It will blow your mind when you find out considering what this site is
    Yeah do tell! they said it was MSG but i dunno.

Quote Originally Posted by b8nburlee View Post
    sorry, but why would you wanna copy kfc?, thats gotta be the nastiest "food" around. eeesh
    i still think just salt/pepper and butter with lemon is the simplest and easiest. it does justice to the fisf,although the above mentioned spices are fantastic....just not kfc.
    Ahhh, But.
    If you made a flour rub with FNQ,s ten spices and added the secret ingredient, What is bad about that?
    The secret ingredient happens to be good for you.
    However deep frying is not

Ive dropped all crumbs now and simply use cornflour salt and malt powder.......throw it in a bag with the fish chunks and roll it around then straight into hot oil one at a time. Amazing.

Ok, Ill give it up.

Fish oil

Cod liver oil, Tuna oil, what ever.

Rub in with fingers a tea spoon of fish oil per cup of spiced flour.
    You really need to work it through with minimal glug ups.
    Just mince it with your fingers until the oil is saturated and the mix becomes dry again.

First Brine the chicken pieces in a solution of 1 TBS salt per litre water.
    You can add a few herbs and spice to the brine as osmosis will carry the flavours deep into the meat (More so than marinating)
    All chook pieces must be fully submerged so you need to get inventive with cups and plates to keep them down.
    Brine for 6-8 hours for cut up chook.

Fully dry chicken, Use a fan or fridge fan, but it must be dry.
    Roll each piece into the flour then set aside.
    The salt in the flour will start to sweat the skin in a few minutes or so.
    Once the flour is wet, Roll them again in the flour then into the fryer.

Walla, Kentucky fried rat.
    Once you do this, You will realise that the KFC flavour is in fact fish oil
    Have a go and tell me what you think

Nice thanks

cheersfnq