139. You may not vote on this poll
  • New Mitsubishi Triton 2.5L Turbo Diesel

69 49.64%
  • New Ford Ranger 3.0L Turbo Diesel

70 50.36%
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: New Ford Ranger vs New Triton

Re: New Ford Ranger vs New Triton

G'day Scott, when I was looking at upgrading the Falcon, we went for test drives in all of the dual cabs and I did a lot of research on the forums. I looked at Triton, BT50/Ranger, Navara, Colorado and Hilux. Hilux was out of the game pretty quick as I couldn't justify the extra dollars.

With the Navara, I did a bit of looking around and a common theme was that the 2.5 litre diesel just wasn't big enough and was working too hard towing big boats and caravans. A mate of mine in the car auction business in Brisvegas said that is why so many low km Pathfinder diesels are on the market.

In the Triton, I found the ride way too rough, and overall couldn't torture my kids by putting them in the back seat of any of them - seats like park benches!

Ended up with the AWD Territory with 6 speed auto - no tranny cooler required, heavy duty bar gets fitted on Wednesday from ARB for $800, and no need for a kidney belt. Towed a mates Haines 600 with it no worries with the old 1650kg tow bar. Sucked a bit of juice but find a car that wouldn't.

Look left - thats what I'll be towing soon!
    Anyone in Townsville want a 1650kg towbar for a Territory? Sell it for a carton of XXXX.

Wal
    Last edited by WalFish; 12-10-2009 at 10:39 PM. Reason: forgot stuff

What the hell happened to the 3.2lt canter motor?
    I'm in the market too, The larger motor was a big plus for me.
    2.5 is just too small.
    looks like its back to petrol 4l

I'd be looking for published torque curves of mother motors if I was towing 2.5 t regularly and forget most other things.
    Navaras etc have great final figures but are peaky for pulling through the rev range.
    Anyone says a 3l won't pull down low has never towed with the right one. The colorado/dmax/rodeo is already at max torque (333nm auto) at 1600 rpm, having pulled from idle.

Good luck looking.

Thanks GBC, I never thought of trying to find those

Like I said, I had several bad experiences up here with the Holden Dealer (which also happens to be the Isuzu dealer), so don't really want to consider them, however, the old man (who as of Sunday has joined the GOM club) is pretty set on the colorado, the dealer has given him a very good deal, but like I said, I've had bad experiences, so don't realy want to throw around 40k their way. And besides, the ranger pulls 380nm at 1800, at around 1600 I would expect that figure to be no less than 350nm.

So far, my thought process has changed, and the larger engine in the ranger, and the excellent service I've had from them the past 3 years with the falcon, mitsubishi is really going to have to work hard for my dollars. The extra 40mm track the triton has can be remedied with some fatter wheels on the ranger.

If anyone can offer advice on those gear ratios I listed earlier that would be great, aside from replacing a clucth, and just bolting on a 'new' gear box in a torana, I only have a very vague idea of what they mean. I'm guessing the higher the number the more willing (for lack of a better description) the wheels are to turn lower in the rev range? So a 1st gear ratio of 4.100 would be easier to take off than a car with a first gear ratio of 3.800? But it would also 'rev out' faster and require a sonner gear change? The way I see it the higher the number, the better it is for towing in the lower gears (ie pulling a boat up a ramp)

Hi Scott, Jim in post #8 pretty much nailed the ratios....IF both vehicles have the same rolling diameter a person would be splitting hairs to pull a winner from those on paper specs.

The test here will now ultimately need to be an on the road/ramp test let the fun start here

Personally and as mentioned above if towing and around 10% more fuel is not an issue then the heavier/larger 4wds will stand out massively on the road and everywhere else there is work to be done.

BTW what does each of those 2 cars weigh? and if one has a variable vane turbo it will pull harder down low with less lag than one without..apples to apples.

Worth considering I recon

David

Specifications Isuzu

Engine:3.0 litre 4-cylinderFuel System:Common rail diesel, direct injectionValve gear:Chain driven, DOHC 16-valve with roller rockersFuel Consumption (claimed, crew cab 4X4):8.4 l/100km (manual) 9.0 l/100km (auto)Induction:Intercooled TurboPower:120kW @ 3,600rpmTorque:360Nm @ 1800-2800rpm (manual) / 333Nm @ 1600-3200rpm (auto)Compression:17.5:1Bore x stroke:95.4mm x 104.9mmTransmission:Five speed manual or four-speed auto (high/low range)4WD Systemash-mounted push-button mode selection, limited slip differentialSuspension:Front: (4X4) Independent hi-rise torsion bars, upper and lower wishbones with double acting gas shockers and stabiliser bar
    Rear: all-alloy semi-eliptic leaf spring with double acting gas shockersBrakes:Front: 280mm ventilated discs, 2-pot calipers
    Rear: 295mm drums, ABS with EBDNanny Stuff:Airbags, ABS, EBDWheelsas driven) 16 x 7.0inch alloysTyres:245/70 R16Towing Capacity:3,000kg (braked), 750kg (unbraked)Cargo Bed:Length: 1375mm
    Width: 1550mmKerb Weight:1915kgPrice:LS-U crew-cab ute 4×4 (tested): $40,500rrp
    (auto $42,500rrp)
    SX crew cab chassis: $36,700
    Last edited by dnej; 13-10-2009 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Addition

Thanks dnej, that looks like the D-max/Colorado, I would consider them, but as I said earlier, the Dealer for Townsville (same one for both) is just a plain arsehole to be honest and will avoid dealing with them again like the plague. That the trouble with Townsville, every brand, whether it be a boat or car, one has one dealer, if you use another dealer from anywhere town/city, the local dealers make it very hard for you if you ever use their services.

Man this is a hard decision, of all the reviews I've read (still can't find any thing close to a dyno run for either motor, to get torque curves etc), the ranger and triton seem to be very highly rated and pretty evenly matched, ie the triton goes better off road, but the ranger tows and is better on road. Not that the triton has been reprted as bad on the road, just that the Ranger gets more praise for its on road performance.

So far though, nobody has said that they can match Mitsubishi's fuel figures for the triton, however, the Ranger fuel figures are pretty spot on, better in some cases.

AS for driver comfort, the Triton has new front seats including longer bottom and a rasied section under the thigh's, also rear passenger comfort has been reported to be superior in the triton. Across the board, though, all the review I have read, have rated the triton the best in its class, but the ranger up there as one of the best all rounders, it is neither the best on or off road, but is good at everything though master of none.

Currently, so far, without having actually test driving any of the 2 yet, from review and specs, the triton is just, and I mean just pipping the ranger for me overall, but my biggest concern is that bloody 2.5L, but the 5/10 year warranty sort of calms the nerves on that front for me.

I think of the 2, the thing it will come down to is which dealer will give me the best deal, and the specifics in the warranty re: towing (That's if I like the way they drive).

Should also look at service schedule and costs for comparable vehicles.

Buy the best car even if outside townsville and use independent specialist 4wd service agent in Townsville. Won't affect your warranty. Just make sure the bloke has any software and access to any updates

Yeah scott is right on the mark about the local dealer up here. Personally, i wouldnt recommend them to anyone, there after sales service is thrown out the window once you have bought the car.
    Gilli

Most sports require one ball..... Fishing requires two

GO326Q
    4M tinnie with 25hp johnson
    Call ova for a chat if you see me out on the water

Scott i have just done 4000k on new tray back colorado
    i also have a problem with the local dealer and went to atherton redding motors saved $6500 on change over figures, tully was $5500 cheaper
    Reddings did the 3000k free service and i requested a oil change and fuel filter change and only charged an extra $50 bucks amazing i also had cruise control fitted at time.
    i lost about 2 days work but worth it i reckon, but will be doing services down here from now unless i can organize some work near atherton. aparently the service and sales at some of the bigger dealers are stand alone as seperate companies or something like that, so couldnt care less where car bought just want to charge the $100 hour for the apprentice to change oil
    i dont think you will have any problem towing with any of these 3l diesels, just drop it into low at steep part of ramp and they will tow a house up it, the same as i do in my mates petrol nissan to save clutch
    my boat about 2300kg not a concern as only go to ramp about once a month but the camp trailer is 1300kg and i hardly feel the difference mrs always telling me to slow down. i am sure the springs on this model are far better than others including well back colorado models, however the front has sagged with bull/winch/siderails, 150kg on ball for trailer hardly dropped at rear. a mate hooked his bt50 up and it was against stops, springs bent over wrong way similar to ford i think.
    have fun making your decision it was a pain for me

Seems to be a trend in that all the current 4wd sag at the front with any weight. Perhaps the manufacturers are doing it for ride and when people start putting weight in the nose ( bars, extra batteries, winch etc)

Whats needed ? a spacer in the front towers or uprated springs / shocks as it must gradually start to wear bushes and other things as alighnment will be out??

Pretty piss poor of the fitters of these accessories not to do the full thing and get it sorted from the start but it is all about client money.

There has to be a local 4wd mechanic up that way that is decent. I also refuse to give shit dealers any of my money for cars , truck or boats and with a long memory I was askied why my fleet never bought from one and I told him "10 years ago you screwed me , you knew it and I said fix it or never get any of my business again" what do you know he never got another cent from me - that was hundreds of thousands of dollars turnover over 10 years and included buying spares from elsewhere until those vehicles were out of the fleet. They forget little businesses grow and have long memories.

yeah there probably is a decent 4wd mechanic up here, but as I've never had one (a 4wd that is) I don't know who or where they are, or what sort of gear they have.

All the new 'soft roaders' like the ranger, triton etc all have the softer suspension in the front to give a better ride for the people who buy them for show rather than the cars proper purpose, also for the tradies who do more road driving than off roading, but need a car in this class to carry and tow heavy loads. Everything is a compromise nowadays.

Oh and thanks to everyone who has contibuted thus far, everything has been considered.

Also, any Townsville locals out there who could give some feedback on what Pickerings are like to deal with? I'm more concerned with what their after sales service is like if/when a problem with the car crops up. Anyone can be nice when they are trying to get 40k out of you

Hi Scott
    Just thought i should share my experiance with you.
    Bought a new Ranger in 2008 ; done 8500 km ; Had the clutch replaced 4 times already and looking at 5th clutch later this month.
    Admittably its 4 x 2 but still the same towing 3 tonnes
    This Ranger hates my boat

Cheers Graham

Thanks for that Graham, I'll definitely bring up clutch drama's with the dealer and see if they can give me something to negate the problem, something along the lines of an Exceedy HD clutch, there's the security of warranty, but if it is a recurring problem, like yours, its a right pain in the arse.